Search

Search

Chinese cars "made in Germany"? - Car congress starts in Zwickau

Chinese car manufacturers want to put more of their vehicles on the road outside their home market. This will probably not stop there. In the future, they could create thousands of jobs by building factories in Germany and Europe.

Reading time: 2 Minutes

Man sieht Menschen bei der Auto- und Verkehrsmesse.
A vehicle at the BYD stand, photographed at the IAA auto and transport trade fair in Munich. © Uwe Lein/dpa

Zwickau/ChemnitzChinese car manufacturers such as BYD and SAIC According to car expert Werner Olle, car manufacturers will soon follow the example of Tesla's and build plants in Europe. Germany has a very good chance of being chosen as the location for a new car factory, said the researcher from the Chemnitz Automotive Institutes the German Press Agency.

It is true that energy costs in Germany are high. "But the most important criterion is the high level of automotive expertise." This includes the close network of suppliers and the potential of skilled workers. Chinese cars "made in Germany" are a quality issue for manufacturers and an important image factor.

According to Olle, China's car exports have increased significantly since 2021. Europe is increasingly coming into focus as a target market. "From 2025, China will become a net exporter, while Europe will become a net importer." This is because China has competitive advantages when it comes to the increasingly important e-cars. According to Olle, these include the size of the Chinese market, which enables corresponding cost advantages, as well as the availability of important parts - from raw materials to batteries and semiconductors.

Mass market as an opportunity

After the Chinese manufacturers dominated their own market for e-cars, entering foreign markets was the next logical step, explained Olle. They are still at the beginning here. However, strong growth is expected in the coming years. For example, manufacturers are working intensively on setting up sales and service locations in Germany. They are also occupying the high-volume market segments for electric cars that European manufacturers have previously neglected. "This is a huge opportunity for Chinese manufacturers."

The next step is to set up our own production facilities abroad, explained Olle. "This step will follow in the next two to three years in order to secure and expand this market position as sales figures continue to rise on foreign markets." Several manufacturers have concrete plans. He named SAIC, BYD and Great Wall Motors. At BYD, a decision on a new plant in Europe could be made by the end of the year, said Olle.

Nio speaks of European factory

The manufacturer Nio had been on the Automobile fair IAA announced in September that it would go one step further. If sales reach the 100,000 vehicle mark, a factory in Europe could be profitable, explained European head Hui Zhang.

On Tuesday and Wednesday, automotive experts and representatives of manufacturers and suppliers will meet in Zwickau for the "Automotive Forum" to discuss strategies. In addition to production facilities of the major manufacturers Volkswagen, BMW and Porsche there are many supplier companies in Saxony. However, the industry is undergoing a profound transformation towards electromobility. The Volkswagen factory in Zwickau, which specializes in e-cars, is struggling with weak demand. (dpa)

This might also interest you:

Suche

Chinesische Autos „made in Germany“? – Autokongress in Zwickau startet

Chinesische Autobauer wollen ihre Fahrzeuge verstärkt außerhalb ihres Heimatmarktes auf die Straßen bringen. Dabei wird es wohl nicht bleiben. Künftig könnten sie mit dem Bau von Fabriken auch in Deutschland und Europa Tausende Jobs schaffen.
Lesedauer: 2 Minuten
Man sieht Menschen bei der Auto- und Verkehrsmesse.
Ein Fahrzeug am Stand der Firma BYD, aufgenommen bei der Auto- und Verkehrsmesse IAA in der Messe München. © Uwe Lein/dpa

Zwickau/ChemnitzChinesische Autobauer wie BYD und SAIC werden nach Einschätzung des Autoexperten Werner Olle bald dem Beispiel Teslas folgen und Werke in Europa bauen. Bei der Wahl des Standorts für eine neue Autofabrik habe Deutschland sehr gute Chancen, sagte der Forscher des Chemnitz Automotive Institutes der Deutschen Presse-Agentur.

Zwar seien die Energiekosten in der Bundesrepublik hoch. „Wichtigstes Kriterium ist aber die hohe Automobilkompetenz.“ Dazu gehöre das enge Netz an Zulieferern und das Potenzial an Fachkräften. Chinesische Autos „made in Germany“ seien für die Hersteller ein Qualitätsthema und ein wichtiger Imagefaktor.

Laut Olle steigen Chinas Autoexporte seit 2021 deutlich. Europa gerate als Zielmarkt immer stärker in den Fokus. „Ab 2025 wird China zu einem Netto-Exporteur, Europa hingegen zum Netto-Importeur.“ Denn China hat bei den immer wichtiger werdenden E-Autos Wettbewerbsvorteile. Dazu gehören laut Olle neben der Größe des chinesischen Marktes, der entsprechende Kostenvorteile ermögliche, die Verfügbarkeit wichtiger Teile – von Rohstoffen über Batterien bis zu Halbleitern.

Massenmarkt als Chance

Nachdem die chinesischen Hersteller bei E-Autos den eigenen Markt dominierten, sei der Eintritt in ausländische Märkte der nächste logische Schritt, erklärte Olle. Hier stünden sie zwar noch am Anfang. In den kommenden Jahren seien aber starke Steigerungen zu erwarten. So beschäftigten sich die Hersteller intensiv mit dem Aufbau von Vertriebs- und Servicestandorten auch in Deutschland. Zudem besetzten sie bei Elektroautos die Marktsegmente mit hohem Volumen, die europäische Hersteller bisher vernachlässigt hätten. „Das ist eine riesige Chance für chinesische Hersteller.“

Der nächste Schritt sei der Aufbau eigener Fertigung im Ausland, erläuterte Olle. „Dieser Schritt wird in den nächsten zwei bis drei Jahren folgen, um bei weiter ansteigenden Absatzzahlen auf ausländischen Märkten diese Marktposition zu sichern und auszubauen.“ Mehrere Hersteller hätten konkrete Pläne. Dazu nannte er SAIC, BYD und Great Wall Motors. Bei BYD könnte schon bis Jahresende eine Entscheidung für ein neues Werk in Europa fallen, sagte Olle.

Nio spricht von europäischer Fabrik

Auch der Hersteller Nio hatte auf der Automesse IAA im September angekündigt, einen Schritt weiter zu gehen. Wenn der Absatz die Marke von 100.000 Fahrzeugen erreiche, könne sich eine Fabrik in Europa rentieren, hatte Europachef Hui Zhang erklärt.

Am Dienstag und Mittwoch treffen sich Autoexperten sowie Vertreter von Herstellern und Zulieferern in Zwickau zum „Automotive Forum„, um über Strategien zu beraten. Neben Produktionsstätten der großen Hersteller Volkswagen, BMW und Porsche gibt es in Sachsen viele Zulieferfirmen. Allerdings steckt die Branche in einem tiefgreifenden Umbruch hin zur Elektromobilität. Vor allem die auf E-Autos spezialisierte Fabrik von Volkswagen in Zwickau hat mit einer Nachfrageschwäche zu kämpfen. (dpa)

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: