Search

The strawberry problem: What harvesting robots can and cannot do

The Saxon agricultural machines Elwobot and Caesar show what they have learned at the Field Day in Dresden-Pillnitz. But can robots also pick strawberries?
Reading time: 5 Minutes
Man sieht einen Ernteroboter.
In the Pillnitz trellis fruit in front of vineyards: The Elwobot drives independently through the rows and mows at the Agricultural Office's trial site. Others have to pick the fruit. © Photo: SZ/Veit Hengst

From George Moeritz

Dresden. The Elwobot copes perfectly with the dead-straight rows of apple trees. The Saxon agricultural machine speeds off on wide tires, lowers the mower deck and cuts the weeds in the tramlines of the espalier orchard. At the end of the row of trees, the Elwobot turns on its own and works its way through the next one. When the electric battery is almost empty, the machine drives onto a vehicle trailer and presses its connector against a metal plate to recharge.

To teach the Elwobot so much independence, many Dresden researchers had to experiment for years. After all, the agricultural machine is supposed to do more than a standard garden mowing robot. But can the Saxon invention also pick apples - or even the pressure-sensitive strawberries? At a field day in Dresden-Pillnitz this week, fruit and wine growers were shown the latest machines and expressed their wishes to the technicians.

The Elwobot is still a research project, paid for by the state of Saxony and developed by the Technical University of Dresden and the State Agency for Environment, Agriculture and Geology (LfULG). The robot can already navigate independently because its laser sensors scan the environment. The data is transmitted via 5G mobile communications to a mobile control station and back. The Elwobot also uses satellite data and cameras.

Breakdown: hornets occupy the mobile phone container

A lidar sensor determines how densely the tree is covered with foliage at different heights while the machine is in motion. It is then possible to calculate how much crop protection agent needs to be sprayed. However, targeted spraying from different nozzles still needs to be tested. In addition, the Saxon self-propelled sprayer has so far only known standardized trial areas. Scientist Jens Fehrmann from the Chair of Agrosystems Technology prefers to speak "of automated rather than autonomous driving. We have become cautious." Much of the development work has to do with software.

Norbert Eichkorn has high hopes for robots. At the Field Day, the outgoing president of the Agricultural Office reminded the audience of the goal of halving the use of artificial pesticides in the EU by 2030. Technology is contributing to this, he said. The shortage of labor is a challenge for food production in Saxony - rationalization can help.

First of all, wild animals put the brakes on the showcase project in Pillnitz: hornets have nested in a container that provides mobile communications for the local campus network. To protect visitors, the university's communications engineers prefer to drive up another container with wifi and 5G routers.

Roller hoe on the robot instead of pesticide

Rain makes the demonstration on this Tuesday even more difficult, as there is normally no mowing or mulching. Dr. Klaus Weidig therefore doesn't even get his Caesar off the trailer, but just shows it off: Similar to the Elwobot research robot, the Caesar is a fairly autonomously driving "equipment carrier without a fixed operating station". Not only can processing equipment be connected at the front and rear, but also at the intermediate axle. Weidig recommends, for example, the rotary hoe for weed removal - instead of the chemical glyphosate.

A Saxon joint venture: the self-propelled Caesar from the Innotrac2020 group of companies can connect agricultural tools at three points. Due to rain, managing director Dr. Klaus Weidig did not take it off the trailer at the field day.© SZ/Georg Moeritz

The Caesar is a joint project of four smaller companies from the Singwitz area near Bautzen, where combine harvesters were manufactured in the GDR. Their joint company Innotrac2020 GmbH offers the Caesar not only for tillage but also for "contour cutting" on espalier fruit. Managing director Weidig does not yet want to comment on the price; after all, only one Caesar has been sold - to a Fraunhofer Institute for further research. But Weidig says the machine could probably save 80 percent of the labor costs of an operator - who would only have to prepare the machine and fill it with diesel. With the Elwobot, meanwhile, researchers are also experimenting with hydrogen charging technology.

Gripper with silicone and carbon

But the designers have not yet dared to pick fruit. Dr. Markus Henke, founder of PowerOn GmbH in Dresden, has been working on artificial muscles and sentient skin for industry for more than ten years. He demonstrates soft silicone with printed carbon veins, a deformable electronic.

Grippers with this material can, for example, transfer quail eggs and test tubes without squeezing them. Henke is offering his invention to the food industry and is still looking for users. He knows: Picking fruit is one of the most difficult tasks in automation. Before that, technicians should first try thinning it out.

In any case, Enrico Neumann advises against robots touching strawberries - even with silicone pads. The product manager of the IAV GmbH Ingenieurgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr is currently testing a robotic arm with a camera that actually harvests strawberries. But it doesn't touch the flesh of the fruit: rather, the machine must detect the stem and cut through it. "We weigh each fruit and then place it in the container".

Automotive experts now tinkering with strawberry picker

What sounds so simple, has many obstacles: Leaves, blossoms and green fruits hang in front of the ripe strawberries. The gripper has to get past them without causing any damage. For humans with two eyes and ten fingers, that's easy; for the robot, it's uncharted territory. According to Neumann, at times 40 engineers were working on the device simultaneously. This is a new task for IAV, a company that traditionally conducts research for the automotive industry in places like Stolberg and is looking for additional fields of research because of the industry's transformation.

Please pick without touching: The scissors on this robot from IAV GmbH Ingenieurgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr cut strawberries by the stem. However, this only works in positions, not in the field.© Photo: SZ/Veit Hengst

Fruit grower Jörg Geithel wants to know from the tinkerer whether the harvest grapple also works in the open field and what quantity it can manage. After all, Geithel is chairman of the Saxon Fruit Association and also works as a fruit-growing consultant. But he won't be hearing any automatic shears snipping away in Saxon fields any time soon: IAV's experts recommend their strawberry harvester only for use on shelves in greenhouses. The test is underway in Rövershagen near Rostock.

Geithel, a practitioner, has already thought about this: "It will be a while before robots can thin or pick fruit," says the head of the Saxon association. Driving machines have been invented, but: "We lack the right tools."

So the fruit grower first looks around at the drones, which will also be presented at the field day. "I could imagine them in fruit growing," says Geithel. With the camera, the fliers could help monitor the stands at an early stage and detect damage - especially discoloration of the leaves. "The more precisely I can then carry out plant protection," he says.

Drones are prohibited in fruit growing

Spraying orchards with pesticides from a helicopter was common practice in the GDR, says Geithel. Today, aircraft are banned for crop protection in orchards - only over steep vineyards and forestry are they allowed to drop what Ulrich G. Hennig calls "spray broth." Hennig is managing director of Drones Team Chemnitz, and what he lets fly is no toy. His drone, which can maneuver a 30-liter container, is almost three meters in diameter.

Ulrich G. Hennig of Drones Team Chemnitz steers a drone nearly three meters in diameter. It could lift 30 liters of "spray broth" and distribute it over steep vineyards.© Photo: SZ/Veit Hengst

The drone hovers slowly over the field at a height of just a few meters and pushes the spray down with its rotors. In front of an audience, Hennig only releases water, but this spring the Chemnitz native has already sprayed vines for the Wackerbarth State Winery and at the Cat Steps in Meissen. On the Mosel and Ahr, small aircraft with crop protection agents are in use.

However, anyone who wants to spray antifungal poison with an aircraft such as a drone must obtain a permit and warn hikers with signs. René Pfüller, a plant protection expert at the agricultural office, explains the formalities: The vintner or cooperative must explain exactly what it intends to do and also name the drone operator. The application must also justify the "need for control." "Pfüller gives his listeners a tip: "The reason is to make work easier.

Jürgen Zuschke, Chairman of the Saxon Winegrowers' Cooperative in Meissen, thinks that making work easier is basically a good thing. Walking with a backpack or hose sprayer over steep slopes and terraces is tedious, and the drone flight would help. However, Zuschke finds the requirement to register a spraying plan with the authorities in good time problematic. Flexible use is necessary, he says. Because whether in the orchard or in the vineyard, the robot must know: "Nature does what it wants."


This might also interest you:

Suche

Das Erdbeer-Problem: Was Ernteroboter können und was nicht

Die sächsischen Landmaschinen Elwobot und Caesar zeigen beim Feldtag in Dresden-Pillnitz, was sie gelernt haben. Aber können Roboter auch Erdbeeren pflücken?
Lesedauer: 5 Minuten
Man sieht einen Ernteroboter.
Im Pillnitzer Spalierobst vor Weinbergen: Der Elwobot fährt auf dem Versuchsgelände des Landwirtschaftsamtes selbstständig durch die Reihen und mäht. Pflücken müssen andere. © Foto: SZ/Veit Hengst

Von Georg Moeritz

Dresden. Mit den schnurgeraden Reihen aus Apfelbäumen kommt der Elwobot prima zurecht. Auf breiten Reifen saust die sächsische Landmaschine los, senkt das Mähwerk ab und schneidet das Kraut in den Fahrgassen der Spalierobstplantage. Am Ende der Baumreihe wendet der Elwobot selbstständig und arbeitet sich durch die nächste. Ist die Elektrobatterie fast leer, fährt die Maschine auf einen Fahrzeug-Anhänger und drückt ihren Anschluss zum Aufladen gegen eine Metallplatte.

Um dem Elwobot so viel Selbstständigkeit beizubringen, mussten viele Dresdner Forscher jahrelang experimentieren. Schließlich soll die Landmaschine mehr leisten als ein handelsüblicher Gartenmähroboter. Doch kann die sächsische Erfindung auch Äpfel pflücken – oder gar die druckempfindlichen Erdbeeren? Bei einem Feldtag in Dresden-Pillnitz ließen sich Obst- und Weinbauern in dieser Woche die neuesten Maschinen zeigen und trugen den Technikern ihre Wünsche vor.

Der Elwobot ist noch ein Forschungsprojekt, bezahlt vom Land Sachsen und entwickelt von Technischer Universität Dresden und dem Landesamt für Umwelt, Landwirtschaft und Geologie (LfULG). Der Roboter kann schon selbstständig navigieren, weil seine Lasersensoren die Umgebung abtasten. Die Daten werden über 5G-Mobilfunk an einen mobilen Leitstand und zurück übertragen. Satellitendaten und Kameras nutzt der Elwobot auch.

Panne: Hornissen besetzen den Mobilfunk-Container

Ein Lidar-Sensor stellt während der Fahrt fest, wie dicht der Baum in verschiedenen Höhen belaubt ist. Danach lässt sich berechnen, wieviel Pflanzenschutzmittel gespritzt werden muss. Das gezielte Spritzen aus unterschiedlichen Düsen muss aber noch erprobt werden. Außerdem kennt der sächsische Selbstfahrer bisher nur standardisierte Versuchsflächen. Der Wissenschaftler Jens Fehrmann von der Professur für Agrosystemtechnik spricht lieber „vom automatisierten als vom autonomen Fahren. Wir sind vorsichtig geworden“. Ein großer Teil der Entwicklungsarbeit hat mit Software zu tun.

Von den Robotern verspricht sich Norbert Eichkorn viel. Der scheidende Präsident des Landwirtschaftsamts erinnert beim Feldtag an das Ziel, bis 2030 den Verbrauch künstlicher Pflanzenschutzmittel in der EU zu halbieren. Technik trage dazu bei. Der Arbeitskräftemangel sei eine Herausforderung für die Lebensmittelproduktion in Sachsen – Rationalisierung könne helfen.

Erst einmal bremsen wilde Tiere das Vorzeigeprojekt in Pillnitz: Hornissen haben sich in einem Container eingenistet, der den Mobilfunk für das örtliche Campusnetz bereitstellt. Zum Schutz der Besucher fahren die Nachrichtentechniker der Universität lieber einen anderen Container mit Wlan- und 5G-Routern heran.

Rollhacke am Roboter statt Pflanzenschutzmittel

Regen erschwert die Vorführung an diesem Dienstag zusätzlich, da wird normalerweise nicht gemäht und gemulcht. Dr. Klaus Weidig holt seinen Caesar daher gar nicht erst vom Hänger, sondern zeigt ihn nur: Ähnlich wie der Forschungsroboter Elwobot ist der Caesar ein ziemlich autonom fahrender „Geräteträger ohne festen Bedienplatz“. Nicht nur vorne und am Heck können Bearbeitungsgeräte angeschlossen werden, sondern auch an der Zwischenachse. Weidig empfiehlt da zum Beispiel die Rollhacke zur Unkraut-Entfernung – anstelle der Chemikalie Glyphosat.

Sächsisches Gemeinschaftswerk: Der Selbstfahrer Caesar vom Firmenverbund Innotrac2020 kann Agrar-Werkzeuge an drei Punkten anschließen. Wegen Regens holte ihn Geschäftsführer Dr. Klaus Weidig beim Feldtag nicht vom Hänger.© SZ/Georg Moeritz

Der Caesar ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt von vier kleineren Betrieben aus dem Raum Singwitz bei Bautzen, wo in der DDR Mähdrescher hergestellt wurden. Ihre gemeinsame Firma Innotrac2020 GmbH bietet den Caesar nicht nur zur Bodenbearbeitung an, sondern auch für den „Konturenschnitt“ am Spalierobst. Zum Preis möchte sich Geschäftsführer Weidig noch nicht äußern, schließlich wurde erst ein Caesar verkauft – an ein Fraunhofer-Institut zur weiteren Forschung. Doch Weidig sagt, das Gerät könne wohl 80 Prozent der Lohnkosten eines Fahrers einsparen – der müsse die Maschine nur noch vorbereiten und mit Diesel betanken. Beim Elwobot experimentieren die Forscher indes auch mit Wasserstoff-Ladetechnik.

Greifer mit Silikon und Kohlenstoff

Ans Obstpflücken wagen sich die Konstrukteure aber noch nicht heran. Dabei gibt es schon empfindsame Fingerspitzen für Roboter: Dr. Markus Henke, Gründer der PowerOn GmbH in Dresden, beschäftigt sich schon seit mehr als zehn Jahren mit künstlichen Muskeln und fühlender Haut für die Industrie. Er zeigt weiches Silikon mit gedruckten Kohlenstoff-Adern vor, eine verformbare Elektronik.

Greifer mit diesem Material können zum Beispiel Wachtel-Eier und Reagenzgläser umsetzen, ohne sie zu quetschen. Henke bietet seine Erfindung der Lebensmittel-Industrie an und sucht noch Anwender. Er weiß: Obst pflücken gehört zu den schwierigsten Aufgaben der Automatisierung. Vorher sollten die Techniker es erst einmal mit dem Ausdünnen versuchen.

Enrico Neumann rät jedenfalls davon ab, dass Roboter Erdbeeren anfassen – und sei es auch mit Silikonkissen. Der Produktmanager der IAV GmbH Ingenieurgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr testet gerade einen Roboterarm mit Kamera, der tatsächlich Erdbeeren erntet. Doch er berührt das Fruchtfleisch nicht: Die Maschine muss vielmehr den Stängel erkennen und durchschneiden. „Wir wiegen jede Frucht und legen sie dann in den Behälter“.

Automobil-Experten tüfteln jetzt an Erdbeer-Pflücker

Was sich so einfach anhört, hat viele Hindernisse: Blätter, Blüten und grüne Früchte hängen vor den reifen Erdbeeren. Der Greifer muss daran vorbei, ohne Schaden anzurichten. Für Menschen mit zwei Augen und zehn Fingern ist das einfach, für den Roboter Neuland. Laut Neumann haben zeitweise 40 Ingenieure gleichzeitig an dem Gerät gearbeitet. Eine neue Aufgabe für das Unternehmen IAV, das in Orten wie Stolberg traditionell für die Autoindustrie forscht und wegen deren Wandels zusätzliche Forschungsfelder sucht.

Bitte berührungslos pflücken: Die Schere an diesem Roboter der IAV GmbH Ingenieurgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr schneidet Erdbeeren am Stiel ab. Das funktioniert aber nur in Stellagen, nicht auf dem Feld.© Foto: SZ/Veit Hengst

Der Obstbauer Jörg Geithel möchte vom Tüftler wissen, ob der Ernte-Greifer auch im Freiland funktioniert und welche Menge er schafft. Geithel ist schließlich Vorsitzender des Landesverbands Sächsisches Obst und arbeitet auch als Obstbauberater. Doch so bald wird er keine automatischen Scheren auf sächsischen Feldern schnippeln hören: Die IAV-Experten empfehlen ihren Erdbeer-Ernter nur für den Einsatz an Stellagen in Gewächshäusern. In Rövershagen bei Rostock läuft der Test.

Der Praktiker Geithel hat sich das schon gedacht: „Bis Roboter Obst ausdünnen oder pflücken können, das dauert noch eine Weile“, sagt der sächsische Verbandschef. Fahrende Maschinen seien zwar erfunden, aber: „Uns fehlen die passenden Werkzeuge.“

Also schaut sich der Obstbauer erst einmal bei den Drohnen um, die ebenfalls auf dem Feldtag präsentiert werden. „Im Obstbau könnte ich mir die schon vorstellen“, sagt Geithel. Mit der Kamera könnten die Flieger helfen, frühzeitig die Bestände zu überwachen und Schäden festzustellen – vor allem Verfärbungen der Blätter. „Umso zielgenauer kann ich dann Pflanzenschutz betreiben“.

Drohnen sind im Obstbau verboten

Obstplantagen vom Hubschrauber aus mit Pflanzenschutzmitteln besprühen, das war in der DDR üblich, sagt Geithel. Heute sind Luftfahrzeuge für Pflanzenschutz im Obstbau verboten – nur über steilen Weinbergen und über dem Forst dürfen sie das ablassen, was Ulrich G. Hennig „Spritzbrühe“ nennt. Hennig ist Geschäftsführer vom Drones Team Chemnitz, und was er fliegen lässt, ist kein Spielzeug. Fast drei Meter Durchmesser hat seine Drohne, die einen 30-Liter-Behälter manövrieren kann.

Ulrich G. Hennig vom Drones Team Chemnitz lenkt eine Drohne mit fast drei Metern Durchmesser. Sie könne 30 Liter „Spritzbrühe“ heben und über steilen Weinbergen austeilen.© Foto: SZ/Veit Hengst

In wenigen Metern Höhe schwebt die Drohne langsam übers Feld und drückt mit ihren Rotoren den Sprühnebel nach unten. Vor Publikum lässt Hennig nur Wasser ab, doch in diesem Frühjahr hat der Chemnitzer schon Reben für das Staatsweingut Schloss Wackerbarth und an den Katzenstufen in Meißen besprüht. An Mosel und Ahr sind Kleinflugzeuge mit Pflanzenschutzmittel im Einsatz.

Wer mit einem Luftfahrzeug wie der Drohne Antipilzgift spritzen will, muss allerdings eine Genehmigung einholen und Wanderer mit Schildern warnen. René Pfüller, Pflanzenschutzexperte im Landwirtschaftsamt, erklärt die Formalitäten: Der Winzer oder die Genossenschaft muss genau erklären, was er vorhat, und auch den Drohnenführer benennen. Im Antrag muss auch die „Bekämpfungsnotwendigkeit“ begründet werden. „Arbeitserleichterung gilt als Grund“, gibt Pfüller seinen Zuhörern als Tipp mit.

Jürgen Zuschke, Vorstand der Sächsischen Winzergenossenschaft Meißen, findet die Arbeitserleichterung grundsätzlich gut. Der Gang mit Rücken- oder Schlauchspritze über Steillagen und Terrassen ist mühsam, der Drohnenflug würde helfen. Problematisch findet Zuschke allerdings die Vorschrift, einen Spritzplan frühzeitig bei der Behörde anzumelden. Flexibler Einsatz sei notwendig. Denn ob in der Obstplantage oder im Weinberg, der Roboter muss wissen: „Die Natur macht, was sie will.“


Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: