Search

Significantly more new apprentices in Saxony's economy

The number of new contracts is rising in both industry and the skilled trades. This is a sign of hope in times of acute staff shortages.
Reading time: < 1 minute
Man sieht einen Lehrling beim Schippen.
Max Richter started as an apprentice at Stadt- und Landbau Bautzen GmbH. © Steffen Unger

From Ulrich Wolf & Michael Rothe

Dresden. The number of new apprentices in Saxony has increased significantly compared to 2022. The three Chambers of Industry and Commerce (IHK) in the Free State counted a total of 10,704 new apprenticeship contracts at the beginning of the training year, an increase of 717 compared to the previous year. In particular, there were more entries in industrial-technical and commercial professions, it said in a statement on Thursday.

However, there are still around 1,000 unfilled positions in the Chamber of Industry and Commerce. According to the latest survey, in 2023 almost half of the companies received no applications at all for the positions offered. And 59 percent were unable to fill vacancies due to a lack of suitable applicants.

The largest increases of over 13 percent were in the Chemnitz chamber district. In Dresden and Leipzig, the increase was a good four percent. "Vocational training as a skilled worker is an effective means of addressing the shortage of skilled workers," it said. Many companies had recognized this and made more places available. The chances of being taken on and of further professional development in the training company are better than ever. The most sought-after professions are retail salesperson, mechatronics technician, salesperson, cook and office management assistant.

Automotive mechatronics specialists in the lead

There is also hopeful news from the Saxon Crafts Council. The umbrella organization of chambers and associations reports 4,923 contracts at the start of the apprenticeship year. That is 135 or 2.8 percent more than at the end of August 2022, as saechsische.de learned on request. Before the Corona crisis in 2019, there were 4,830 apprenticeship contracts.

Automotive mechatronics technicians, electronics technicians and plumbing, heating and air conditioning technicians were the most popular. According to the day of crafts also building cleaners, bricklayers and bakers were again more in demand. The handicraft training place stock exchange www.ich-kann-etwas.de exhibits however likewise still hundreds offers. Addressed are expressly also high school graduates and university dropouts, it is called by the craftsman organization. An entrance into the current dual vocational training is still possible until the end of October.

This might also interest you:

Ein Mann sitzt in einem Hörsaal und schaut in die Kamera.

Science and techno

Professor Bertolt Meyer's mix is unique. What drives the Chemnitz native, who has just been named "University Teacher of the Year"?

Read more ►

Suche

Deutlich mehr neue Lehrlinge in Sachsens Wirtschaft

Sowohl in der Industrie als auch im Handwerk steigt die Zahl der Neuverträge. Ein Hoffnungssignal in Zeiten akuter Personalnot.
Lesedauer: < 1 minute
Man sieht einen Lehrling beim Schippen.
Max Richter hat bei der Stadt- und Landbau Bautzen GmbH als Lehrling angefangen. © Steffen Unger

Von Ulrich Wolf & Michael Rothe

Dresden. Die Zahl neuer Azubis in Sachsen ist gegenüber 2022 deutlich gestiegen. Die drei Industrie- und Handelskammern (IHK) im Freistaat haben zu Beginn des Ausbildungsjahres insgesamt 10.704 neue Lehrverträge gezählt, ein Plus von 717 gegenüber dem Vorjahr. Insbesondere bei gewerblich-technischen und kaufmännischen Berufen gebe es mehr Einträge, hieß es am Donnerstag in einer Mitteilung.

Im IHK-Beritt gebe es aber auch noch rund 1.000 unbesetzte Stellen. Laut jüngster Umfrage gingen 2023 bei fast der Hälfte der Unternehmen gar keine Bewerbungen auf angebotene Plätze ein. Und 59 Prozent konnten Stellen wegen mangelnder Eignung der Bewerber/-innen nicht besetzen.

Die größten Zuwächse von über 13 Prozent gab es im Kammerbezirk Chemnitz. In Dresden und Leipzig betrug das Plus gut vier Prozent. „Eine Berufsausbildung zum Facharbeiter ist ein probates Mittel zur Behebung des Fachkräftemangels“, hieß es. Das hätten viele Firmen erkannt und mehr Plätze bereitgestellt. Die Chance auf Übernahme und berufliche Weiterentwicklung im Ausbildungsbetrieb seien besser denn je. Die gefragtesten Berufe sind Kauffrau/mann im Einzelhandel, Mechatroniker/in, Verkäufer/in, Koch/Köchin sowie Kauffrau/-mann für Büromanagement.

Kfz-Mechatroniker in der Gunst ganz vorn

Hoffnungsvolle Nachrichten gibt es auch vom Sächsischen Handwerkstag. Die Dachorganisation der Kammern und Verbände meldet zum Start des Lehrjahres 4.923 Verträge. Das sind 135 oder 2,8 Prozent mehr als Ende August 2022, wie saechsische.de auf Anfrage erfuhr. Vor der Corona-Krise 2019 waren es 4.830 Lehrverträge.

Ganz vorn in der Gunst liegen Kfz-Mechatroniker, Elektroniker, Sanitär-Heizung-Klima-Techniker. Laut Handwerkstag wurden auch Gebäudereiniger, Maurer und Bäcker wieder stärker nachgefragt. Die Handwerk-Lehrstellenbörse www.ich-kann-etwas.de weist aber ebenso noch Hunderte Offerten aus. Angesprochen seien ausdrücklich auch Abiturienten und Studienabbrecher, heißt es von der Handwerkerorganisation. Ein Einstieg in die laufende duale Berufsbildung sei noch bis Ende Oktober möglich.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: