Search

Search

The railroad has sold almost all its stations in Saxony

In no other German state have more reception buildings at railroad stations been demolished than in Saxony, but many are going to rot. This is to change - also through insight on the part of the corporation.

Reading time: 2 Minutes

Man sieht den Bahnhof von Lohmen.
Years after Deutsche Bahn sold the station building, many places in Saxony still look like Lohmen station in Saxon Switzerland. © Jürgen Lösel

By Michael Rothe

Dresden. In Saxony, Deutsche Bahn (DB) now owns only 21 of what were once 417 station buildings, twelve of them in the greater Dresden area. According to an evaluation by the Pro-Rail Alliance, the company has sold 95 percent of its total holdings in the Free State since 1999 - more stations than in any other federal state.

The Group subsidiary DB Station&Service AG still owns 676 of 3,507 such properties in Germany. The reason for the sales was the requirement, in force since the 1994 rail reform, that the buildings must finance themselves from rental income. The federal government, which owns the railroad, now only provides financing when platforms are built or renovated. It does not feel responsible for the buildings. DB was thus under pressure to sell off reception buildings that were not profitable.

In addition to Dresden's main station and the Neustadt and Mitte stations there, the remaining addresses in eastern Saxony include Görlitz, Meißen, Riesa, Pirna, Zittau, Königstein, Köttewitz, Oberschlottwitz and Bärenhecke-Johnsbach. In the best cases, sold and renovated houses come to life: as a mobility center with gastronomy and offices as in Großenhain, as a bakery with café as in Geising, as a classic car museum as in Sebnitz or as the seat of the city administration as in Freital-Potschappel. But they are often abandoned to decay and vandalism.

© SZ

Therefore, the Pro-Rail Alliance does not approve of the development. "The new federal states are particularly affected by the wave of sales, which has stopped in the meantime," says Managing Director Dirk Flege to Sächsische.de.

This cannot be explained by population decline. For far too long, the federal government has only looked at station buildings from a business perspective. "People's mobility needs and social aspects have often fallen by the wayside," criticizes the head of the non-profit interest organization of a good 200 companies and associations. "It is time for the federal government to feel financially responsible for station buildings," Flege demands, "because reception buildings are an extraordinarily important point of contact for travelers."

The railroad also came to this conclusion. It has been holding on to the buildings since 2022 in order to help shape their use and to develop the stations holistically, it says in response to an inquiry. "Stations are the calling cards of cities and communities and for travelers the gateway to the rail system," a spokesman said. DB continues to have operator responsibility and indirect influence on the real estate, for example, to ensure traffic by the buyers. In the case of "visual aspects and non-safety-relevant defects," however, it has no legal recourse.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Die Bahn hat in Sachsen fast alle ihre Bahnhöfe verkauft

In keinem anderen Bundesland wurden mehr Empfangsgebäude an Bahnhöfen abgestoßen als in Sachsen, doch viele vergammeln. Das soll sich ändern – auch durch Einsicht des Konzerns.
Lesedauer: 2 Minuten
Man sieht den Bahnhof von Lohmen.
Wie am Bahnhof Lohmen in der Sächsischen Schweiz sieht es auch noch Jahre nach dem Verkauf des Empfangsgebäudes durch die Deutsche Bahn vielerorts in Sachsen aus. © Jürgen Lösel

Von Michael Rothe

Dresden. Der Deutschen Bahn (DB) gehören in Sachsen nur noch 21 von einst 417 Bahnhofsgebäuden, zwölf davon im Großraum Dresden. Laut einer Auswertung der Allianz pro Schiene hat der Konzern seit 1999 im Freistaat 95 Prozent seines Gesamtbestandes verkauft – so viele Stationen wie in keinem anderen Bundesland.

Die Konzerntochter DB Station&Service AG besitzt in Deutschland noch 676 von 3.507 solcher Immobilien. Grund für die Verkäufe war die seit der Bahnreform 1994 geltende Auflage, dass sich die Häuser aus Mieteinnahmen selbst finanzieren müssen. Der Bahneigentümer Bund übernimmt nur noch die Finanzierung, wenn Bahnsteige gebaut oder erneuert werden. Für die Gebäude fühlt er sich nicht zuständig. Die DB stand damit unter Druck, Empfangsgebäude, die sich nicht rechnen, abzustoßen.

Zu den verbliebenen Adressen gehören in Ostsachsen neben Dresdens Hauptbahnhof sowie den dortigen Stationen Neustadt und Mitte auch Görlitz, Meißen, Riesa, Pirna, Zittau, Königstein, Köttewitz, Oberschlottwitz und Bärenhecke-Johnsbach. Im besten Fall leben verkaufte und sanierte Häuser auf: als Mobilitätszentrum mit Gastronomie und Büros wie in Großenhain, als Bäckerei mit Café wie in Geising, als Oldtimer-Museum wie in Sebnitz oder als Sitz der Stadtverwaltung wie in Freital-Potschappel. Doch oft sind sie Verfall und Vandalismus preisgegeben.

© SZ

Daher heißt die Allianz pro Schiene die Entwicklung nicht gut. „Die neuen Bundesländer sind besonders von der mittlerweile gestoppten Verkaufswelle betroffen“, sagt Geschäftsführer Dirk Flege zu Sächsische.de.

Mit Bevölkerungsrückgang sei das nicht zu erklären. Vielmehr habe der Bund Bahnhofsgebäude viel zu lange nur betriebswirtschaftlich betrachtet. „Mobilitätsbedürfnisse der Menschen und soziale Aspekte sind häufig hinten runter gefallen“, kritisiert der Chef der gemeinnützigen Interessenorganisation von gut 200 Unternehmen und Verbänden. „Es ist an der Zeit, dass der Bund sich finanziell für die Bahnhofsgebäude verantwortlich fühlt“, fordert Flege, „denn Empfangsgebäude sind für Reisende eine außerordentlich wichtige Anlaufstelle“.

Zu der Einsicht kam auch die Bahn. Sie halte seit 2022 an den Häusern fest, um ihre Nutzung mitzugestalten und die Bahnhöfe ganzheitlich zu entwickeln, heißt es auf Anfrage. „Bahnhöfe sind Visitenkarten der Städte und Kommunen und für die Reisenden das Eingangstor zum System Bahn“, so ein Sprecher. Die DB habe weiter Betreiberverantwortung und mittelbar Einfluss auf die Immobilien, etwa zur Sicherstellung des Verkehrs durch die Käufer. Bei „optischen Aspekten und nicht sicherheitsrelevanten Mängeln“ habe sie aber keine rechtliche Handhabe.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: