Search

Search

New business idea in Niesky: lavender farmers plan own farm store

The demand for lavender products from the agricultural cooperative in the Niesky district of See is high. In the new year, it should be possible to buy on site.

Reading time: 3 Minutes

In See können Besucher zwischen den Lavendelreihen entlanglaufen.
It doesn't have to be a trip to France to take beautiful pictures of lavender in bloom, like here with model Ania. A trip to See is enough in the summer. Visitors can walk between the rows of lavender. © SZ/Steffen Gerhardt

From Steffen Gerhardt

Andreas Graf is satisfied with the lavender harvest. For the chairman of the agricultural cooperative in the Niesky district of See, it has already been completed.

From the area of two and a half hectares could be harvested about 100 kilograms of lavender flowers and in addition 32 kilograms of oil. Oil is less than the previous year. In 2022, the yield was 45 kilograms. Still, this year's yield is slightly more than the amount the lakeers distilled in the first harvest year of 2021. There, it was 28 kilograms. But there's a reason for that, explains Andreas Graf: "This year, the demand for lavender flowers for further processing has increased." In order to get the blossoms in their full glory from the field, the harvest began earlier this year. With the disadvantage that the oil content of the plant is lower because it is not yet mature.

The flowers are used for many products that the agricultural cooperative has developed together with partners and offers for sale. Thus, not only the fragrance sachets are made of lavender flowers. They are also used in soap, hair shampoo, lip balm, lavender salami and ice cream.

Internet store spruced up

The Seer agriculture is focusing on marketing its lavender products itself. To this end, she has not only given her online store a new look for the new season, but has also optimized the ordering process. "Until now, our Internet store has been operated by two colleagues in addition to their actual duties. The changes have reduced the workload for them," explains the agricultural boss. Also, a letter carrier now comes to the cooperative to pick up the shipping packages. Previously, the women had to take them to the post office themselves.

Nevertheless, the clicks and orders show that this business can soon no longer be done "on the side. And that's where the agricultural cooperative actually wants to go. With the refreshing of their Internet presence in September, the Seer could recorded around 5,000 hits on its Lausitzer-Lavendel.de portal. This is primarily intended for customers in Germany. Andreas Graf has so far refrained from doing business abroad, as each country has its own regulations and laws on online trading.

Chairman Andreas Graf shows a selection of Seer Agrar products made from lavender grown on the farm.© SZ/Steffen Gerhardt

Even though the lavender plant only takes up about 1.5 percent of the cooperative's total cultivated area, "lavender is an important mainstay for us," says the chairman of the board. In addition to production and marketing, the people of Lake Constance also want to anchor this unique selling point in the region for tourism. However, they only have two months a year to do this, when the lavender blooms in June and July.

Tour buses stop in lake

Three coaches stopped at See during these two months, Andreas Graf recounts. The companies were each given a guided tour as well as coffee and cake. Whereby lavender cake would also still be an option for the guests. "We are constantly looking for new ideas and their implementation," explains the CEO. But this always requires a partner in business and crafts. This partner should be based as locally or regionally as possible - for reasons of sustainability and short distribution channels.

The lakeside company wants to add lavender-scented candles and a floral spice to its product range. They are also considering having lavender-flavored syrup produced. Inquiries come there from the catering trade, also after a liqueur or cocktails with lavender taste. Because it goes to the Christmas season, and there gifts are again in demand. "This is also the time when our online store is particularly intensively frequented," says Andreas Graf.

From this year, an Internet visit is particularly worthwhile. This invites to a virtual tour of the lavender field. On attached buttons the visitor learns interesting facts about the plant and its processing. The people of the lake have also come up with this for the reason that the lavender only blooms for two months before it is harvested.

Lavender store in the house

A major construction project is planned for next year. The agricultural cooperative wants to set up a small store in its administrative headquarters to sell the products behind its own front door. "Especially from visitors to our lavender field often come inquiries whether they can not also buy the products from us. This should become possible in the new year for the season," assures the agricultural boss.

Then in the store will also be a freezer, where the coveted ice cream with lavender. But the clientele does not have to wait that long. The Agrargenossenschaft See will be represented with its stand at the next Naschmarkt in Niesky. There, the first lavender ice cream after the seasonal break will be available - as milk ice cream and as strawberry sorbet. The market will take place in a week, on October 14, at the Zinzendorfplatz in Niesky.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Suche

Neue Geschäftsidee in Niesky: Lavendel-Bauern planen eigenen Hofladen

Die Nachfrage nach Lavendelprodukten der Agrargenossenschaft im Nieskyer Ortsteil See ist groß. Im neuen Jahr soll der Kauf vor Ort möglich sein.

Lesedauer: 3 Minuten

In See können Besucher zwischen den Lavendelreihen entlanglaufen.
Es muss keine Frankreich-Reise sein, um schöne Aufnahmen vom blühenden Lavendel zu machen, wie hier mit Model Ania. Eine Fahrt nach See reicht da im Sommer schon aus. Besucher können zwischen den Lavendelreihen entlanglaufen. © SZ/Steffen Gerhardt

Von Steffen Gerhardt

Andreas Graf ist zufrieden mit der Lavendel-Ernte. Für den Vorsitzenden der Agrargenossenschaft im Nieskyer Ortsteil See ist sie bereits abgeschlossen.

Von der zweieinhalb Hektar großen Fläche konnten rund 100 Kilogramm Lavendelblüten geerntet und dazu 32 Kilogramm Öl gewonnen werden. Öl ist weniger als im Vorjahr. 2022 stand ein Ertrag von 45 Kilogramm zu Buche. Dennoch ist der diesjährige Ertrag etwas mehr über der Menge, die die Seer im ersten Erntejahr 2021 destillierten. Da waren es 28 Kilogramm. Das hat aber einen Grund, erläutert Andreas Graf: „In diesem Jahr ist die Nachfrage nach Lavendelblüten für die Weiterverarbeitung gestiegen.“ Um die Blüten in ihrer vollen Pracht vom Feld zu holen, begann die Ernte in diesem Jahr zeitiger. Mit dem Nachteil, dass der Ölgehalt der Pflanze geringer ist, weil sie noch nicht ausgereift ist.

Die Blüten finden für viele Produkte Verwendung, die die Agrargenossenschaft zusammen mit Partnern entwickelt hat und zum Kauf anbietet. So bestehen nicht nur die Duftsäckchen aus Lavendelblüten. Diese finden sich auch in Seife, Haarshampoo, Lippenbalsam sowie in der Lavendelsalami und im Speiseeis verarbeitet wieder.

Internetshop aufgemöbelt

Die Seer Agrar setzt auf die Eigenvermarktung ihrer Lavendelprodukte. Dafür hat sie für die neue Saison ihrem Onlineshop nicht nur ein neues Aussehen gegeben, sondern auch den Bestellprozess optimiert. „Bisher wird unser Internetshop von zwei Kolleginnen neben ihren eigentlichen Aufgaben bedient. Mit den Änderungen hat sich der Aufwand für sie verringert“, erklärt der Agrarchef. Auch kommt ein Postbote jetzt zur Genossenschaft, um die Versandpäckchen abzuholen. Bisher mussten die Frauen das selbst zur Post bringen.

Dennoch zeigen die Klicks und Bestellungen, dass dieses Geschäft bald nicht mehr „nebenbei“ zu machen ist. Und da will die Agrargenossenschaft eigentlich hin. Mit der Auffrischung ihrer Internetpräsenz konnten die Seer im September rund 5.000 Zugriffe auf ihr Portal Lausitzer-Lavendel.de verbuchen. Dieses ist vor allem für Kunden in Deutschland gedacht. Vom Ausland nimmt Andreas Graf bisher Abstand, da jedes Land so seine eigenen Bestimmungen und Gesetze zum Onlinehandel hat.

Vorsitzender Andreas Graf zeigt eine Auswahl an Produkten der Seer Agrar, die aus Lavendel aus dem eigenen Anbau hergestellt werden.© SZ/Steffen Gerhardt

Auch wenn die Lavendelpflanze nur etwa 1,5 Prozent der insgesamt bewirtschafteten Fläche der Genossenschaft in Anspruch nimmt, „ist Lavendel für uns ein wichtiges Standbein“, sagt der Vorstandsvorsitzende. Denn neben Produktion und Vermarktung wollen die Seer dieses Alleinstellungsmerkmal auch touristisch in der Region verankern. Dafür haben sie im Jahr aber nur zwei Monate die Gelegenheit, wenn im Juni und Juli der Lavendel blüht.

Reisebusse stoppen in See

Drei Reisebusse hielten in diesen beiden Monaten in See, erzählt Andreas Graf. Die Gesellschaften bekamen jeweils eine Führung sowie Kaffee und Kuchen. Wobei Lavendelkuchen auch noch eine Option für die Gäste wäre. „Wir sind ständig auf der Suche nach neuen Ideen und ihrer Umsetzung“, erklärt der Vorstandsvorsitzende. Aber dazu braucht es immer einen Partner in Wirtschaft und Handwerk. Dieser sollte seinen Sitz möglichst lokal oder regional haben – aus Gründen der Nachhaltigkeit und kurzer Vertriebswege.

Neu ins Programm aufnehmen wollen die Seer Kerzen mit Lavendelduft und ein Blütengewürz. Überlegungen gibt es auch, Sirup mit Lavendelgeschmack herstellen zu lassen. Nachfragen kommen da aus der Gastronomie, auch nach einem Likör oder Cocktails mit Lavendelgeschmack. Denn es geht auf die Weihnachtszeit zu, und da sind Geschenke wieder gefragt. „Das ist auch die Zeit, in der unser Onlineshop besonders intensiv frequentiert wird“, sagt Andreas Graf.

Ab diesem Jahr lohnt sich ein Internetbesuch besonders. Dieser lädt ein zu einem virtuellen Rundgang durch das Lavendelfeld. Auf beigefügten Schaltflächen erfährt der Besucher Interessantes über die Pflanze und ihre Verarbeitung. Das haben sich die Seer auch aus dem Grund einfallen lassen, weil der Lavendel nur zwei Monate blüht, bevor er geerntet wird.

Lavendelgeschäft im Haus

Für nächstes Jahr ist ein größeres bauliches Vorhaben geplant. Die Agrargenossenschaft will in ihrem Verwaltungssitz ein kleines Geschäft einrichten, um die Produkte hinter der eigenen Haustür zu verkaufen. „Vor allem von Besuchern unseres Lavendelfeldes kommen oft Nachfragen, ob sie nicht auch die Produkte bei uns kaufen können. Das soll im neuen Jahr zur Saison möglich werden“, versichert der Agrarchef.

Dann wird in dem Laden auch eine Tiefkühltruhe stehen, in der das begehrte Speiseeis mit Lavendel liegt. Aber solange braucht die Kundschaft nicht zu warten. Die Agrargenossenschaft See ist mit ihrem Stand auf dem nächsten Naschmarkt in Niesky vertreten. Dort wird es das erste Lavendeleis nach der Saisonpause geben – als Milcheis und als Erdbeer-Sorbet. Der Markt findet in einer Woche, am 14. Oktober, auf dem Zinzendorfplatz in Niesky statt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: