Search

Search

Federal Center for Building Research to be established in Bautzen

The federal government is investing almost 69 million euros in a new center for building research by 2028. It will be headquartered in Bautzen, creating thousands of new jobs in the region.

Reading time: 4 Minutes

Man sieht das geplante Bauforschungszentrum in Bautzen
This is what the plans for the "Lausitz Art of Building" (LAB) construction research center in the district of Bautzen look like so far. Visualization: CGI HENN

From David Berndt

Bautzen. The Federal Building Research Center "Living Art of Building" (LAB) is coming to the city with its headquarters Bautzen. This was confirmed by the Bautzen District Office on the morning of November 17, 2023. German Bundestag decided the night before to provide a total of 3.6 million euros in 2024 for the establishment of the LAB for climate-neutral and resource-efficient construction. Further funds of up to 65 million euros are planned until 2028.

The districts of Bautzen and Görlitz have pledged to make up to 450 million euros of their structural change funds available for investment in the development with the help of the cities and municipalities. According to current considerations, further LAB locations are to be established in Weimar and Aachen, as the Saxon members of the Bundestag Torsten Herbst (FDP), Dr. Paula Piechotta (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen) and Kathrin Michel (SPD) explained in their communication on the budget resolution on the morning of November 17.

The concept for a Federal Center for Building Research is to be set up over a ten-year development phase. Up to 1,250 people are to conduct research at the research center in laboratory facilities that are unique in the world. In close cooperation with the construction industry, around 30,000 to 40,000 jobs are to be created for new construction. This would make the LAB the largest research center in the world.

TU Professor Curbach: Climate-neutral construction by 2045

Bautzen's district administrator Udo Witschas (CDU) was delighted with the federal government's decision. They had fought hard for this idea and this topic of the future. "From Bautzen, we can be pioneers and at the same time contribute to the success of structural change," said Witschas. He thanked all supporters, including the three members of the Bundestag who had campaigned for the project.

In a video message on his Facebook page, Udo Witschas expresses his special thanks to Professor Manfred Curbach from the LAB. Curbach is delighted, he says when asked by Sächsische.de. "Because of the ever-increasing climate change and the ever-increasing impact on people, building must be climate-neutral by 2045," he emphasizes.

Man sieht Prof. Manfred Curbach in seinem Büro
Prof. Manfred Curbach is the brainchild behind the LAB, an expert in carbon concrete and Director of the Institute for Solid Construction at the Technical University of Dresden.
Stefan Gröschel, IMB, TU Dresden

The research for this is to be driven forward in the new construction research center and put into practice as quickly as possible. The launch of the LAB is a great team success and he is proud of the passionate commitment of his colleagues, says Manfred Curbach.

City of Bautzen wants to press ahead with planning for LAB site

Bautzen's mayor Karsten Vogt (CDU) is also very pleased with the LAB decision. "After months of campaigning for this enormously important project for us, we are particularly pleased that the federal government has now given the green light." Bautzen and Lusatia offer the best conditions for this future-oriented project. Vogt thanked everyone involved. They had "carried out important lobbying work for our region. We as the city of Bautzen will now intensively drive forward all planning processes."

Marko Schiemann (CDU), member of the Bautzen state parliament, welcomes the decision of the budget committee. He sees an opportunity for regional companies to provide sound technical support for the topic of "building the future". "Especially for Upper Lusatia, for structural change and for sustainable jobs, the settlement is a highly encouraging signal."

Caren Lay (Die Linke), a member of the Bundestag from the district of Bautzen, takes a similar view. "This is a very good decision. Together with the Lautech GmbH Center for Building and Living in Hoyerswerda, the district of Bautzen will become an important center for sustainable construction in the future."

Through intensive basic research, the LAB aims to find solutions and ideas for the development of new materials, technologies, processes and further digitization on a large scale. According to the Bautzen District Office, the construction industry currently accounts for over 25 percent of global CO2 emissions, as well as 40 percent of global energy consumption. Construction waste accounts for almost 60 percent of the annual volume of waste in Germany.

Further LAB information on November 20, 2023 at PK in Bautzen

Kathrin Michel is convinced that many scientific locations and construction companies throughout Germany will benefit from the LAB. "Building research can thus be raised to a whole new level and make an important contribution to achieving our climate targets."

As there is currently no research facility for sustainable construction in Germany, the LAB fills this gap, says Paula Piechotta. "Topics ranging from heat-resistant construction and carbon concrete to more digital and resource-efficient construction are waiting to be addressed."

Torsten Herbst considers the decision to establish the LAB with its headquarters in Saxony to be a huge success. "This will not only benefit the district of Bautzen, but the entire Saxon construction industry." The Member of Parliament would like to thank Professor Manfred Curbach and his team at Dresden University of Technology for their professional concept development and Bautzen District Administrator Udo Witschas for their support. Together, Torsten Herbst, Manfred Curbach and Udo Witschas will inform the press about further details on the construction of the LAB, such as the possible location, on November 20, 2023 at the Bautzen district administration office.

LAB lost to the Center for Astrophysics in 2022

Under the name "Lausitz Art of Building", the construction research center took part in the competition for a large-scale research center in the course of structural change in Lusatia. As part of the concept, the LAB wanted to locate in Görlitz and Bautzen. In September 2022, however, the decision on the large-scale research center was made in favor of the German Center for Astrophysics.

Despite the defeat, the Bautzen district office and the city of Bautzen continued to campaign for the LAB and its establishment on site. In the summer of 2023, Bautzen Mayor Karsten Vogt (CDU) proposed the Perfecta brownfield site in the city center as a possible LAB location.

The original text was significantly expanded on November 17, 2023 at 2:07 p.m. and supplemented with statements from Bautzen's District Administrator Udo Witschas (CDU), Bautzen's Mayor Karsten Vogt (CDU), Professor Manfred Curbach and other information on the topic.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Suche

Bundeszentrum für Bauforschung entsteht in Bautzen

Der Bund investiert bis 2028 knapp 69 Millionen Euro in ein neues Zentrum für Bauforschung. Seinen Hauptsitz bekommt es in Bautzen, und in der Region entstehen tausende neue Jobs.

Lesedauer: 4 Minuten

Man sieht das geplante Bauforschungszentrum in Bautzen
So sehen die bisherigen Pläne für das Bauforschungszentrum „Lausitz Art of Building“ (LAB) im Landkreis Bautzen aus. © Visualisierung: CGI HENN

Von David Berndt

Bautzen. Das Bundesbauforschungszentrum „Living Art of Building“ (LAB) kommt mit seinem Hauptsitz in die Stadt Bautzen. Das bestätigte das Landratsamt Bautzen am Vormittag des 17. November 2023. Demnach habe der Haushaltsausschuss des Deutschen Bundestages in der Nacht zuvor beschlossen, 2024 insgesamt 3,6 Millionen Euro für den Aufbau des LAB für klimaneutrales und ressourceneffizientes Bauen bereitzustellen. Bis zum Jahr 2028 seien weitere Gelder in Höhe von bis zu 65 Millionen Euro vorgesehen.

Die Landkreise Bautzen und Görlitz haben zugesagt, mithilfe der Städte und Gemeinden bis zu 450 Millionen Euro ihrer Mittel für den Strukturwandel für Investitionen in den Aufbau zur Verfügung zu stellen. Weitere Standorte des LAB sollen nach aktuellen Überlegungen in Weimar und Aachen entstehen, wie die sächsischen Bundestagsabgeordneten Torsten Herbst (FDP), Dr. Paula Piechotta (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen) und Kathrin Michel (SPD) in ihrer Mitteilung zu dem Haushaltsbeschluss am Morgen des 17. November erklärten.

Das Konzept für ein Bundeszentrum für Bauforschung soll mit einer Aufbauphase von zehn Jahren angelegt sein. Im Forschungszentrum sollen insgesamt bis zu 1.250 Menschen in weltweit einmaligen Laboreinrichtungen forschen. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Bauwirtschaft sollen etwa 30.000 bis 40.000 Arbeitsplätze für neues Bauen entstehen. Das LAB wäre damit das größte Forschungszentrum der Welt.

TU-Professor Curbach: Klimaneutrales Bauen bis 2045

Bautzens Landrat Udo Witschas (CDU) freute sich sehr über die Entscheidung des Bundes. Man habe sehr für diese Idee und dieses Zukunftsthema gekämpft. „Von Bautzen aus können wir Vorreiter sein und gleichzeitig zum Erfolg des Strukturwandels beitragen“, so Witschas. Er bedankte sich bei allen Unterstützern, unter anderem den drei Bundestagsabgeordneten, die sich für das Projekt eingesetzt hatten.

In einer Videobotschaft auf seiner Facebookseite dankt Udo Witschas Professor Manfred Curbach vom LAB ganz besonders. Curbachs Freude ist riesengroß, sagt dieser auf Anfrage von Sächsische.de. „Wegen des immer stärker werdenden Klimawandels und der immer stärkeren Auswirkungen auf die Menschen muss das Bauen bis 2045 unbedingt klimaneutral sein“, betont er.

Man sieht Prof. Manfred Curbach in seinem Büro
Prof. Manfred Curbach ist Ideengeber des LAB, Experte für Carbonbeton und Direktor des Instituts für Massivbau an der Technischen Universität Dresden.
© Stefan Gröschel, IMB, TU Dresden

Die Forschung dafür soll in dem neuen Bauforschungszentrum vorangetrieben und möglichst schnell in der Praxis umgesetzt werden. Der Start des LAB sei ein toller Teamerfolg, und er sei stolz auf das leidenschaftliche Engagement seiner Mitstreiter, so Manfred Curbach.

Stadt Bautzen will Planung für LAB-Standort vorantreiben

Auch Bautzens OB Karsten Vogt (CDU) ist sehr erfreut über den LAB-Beschluss. „Nach monatelangem Einsatz für dieses für uns enorm wichtige Projekt freuen wir uns besonders, dass der Bund nun grünes Licht gegeben hat.“ Bautzen und die Lausitz böten beste Bedingungen für dieses Zukunftsprojekt. Vogt bedankt sich bei allen Beteiligten. Sie hätten „wichtige Lobbyarbeit für unsere Region geleistet. Wir als Stadt Bautzen werden nun intensiv alle planerischen Prozesse vorantreiben.“

Der Bautzener Landtagsabgeordnete Marko Schiemann (CDU) begrüßt die Entscheidung des Haushaltsausschusses. Er sehe die Chance, das Thema „Bauen der Zukunft“ durch regionale Unternehmen fachlich solide zu begleiten. „Besonders für die Oberlausitz, für den Strukturwandel und für zukunftsfähige Arbeitsplätze ist die Ansiedlung ein hocherfreuliches Signal.“

Ähnlich sieht es die Bundestagsabgeordnete Caren Lay (Die Linke) aus dem Landkreis Bautzen. „Das ist eine sehr gute Entscheidung. Zusammen mit dem Zentrum für Bauen und Wohnen der Lautech GmbH in Hoyerswerda wird der Landkreis Bautzen in Zukunft zu einem wichtigen Zentrum in Sachen zukunftsfähiges Bauen.“

Das LAB wolle durch intensive Grundlagenforschung Lösungen und Ideen für die Entwicklung neuer Materialien, Technologien, Verfahren und die weitere Digitalisierung in großem Maßstab finden. Laut dem Landratsamt Bautzen entfallen derzeit über 25 Prozent des globalen CO2-Ausstoßes auf die Bauwirtschaft, ebenso wie 40 Prozent des weltweiten Energieverbrauchs. Bauabfälle machten fast 60 Prozent der jährlichen Abfallmenge in Deutschland aus.

Weitere LAB-Infos am 20. November 2023 bei PK in Bautzen

Kathrin Michel ist überzeugt davon, dass vom LAB viele Wissenschaftsstandorte und Baubetriebe in ganz Deutschland profitieren werden. „Die Bauforschung kann somit auf ein ganz neues Niveau gehoben werden und dadurch einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erreichung unserer Klimaziele leisten.“

Da es bislang keine Forschungseinrichtung für zukunftsfähiges Bauen in Deutschland gebe, schließe das LAB diese Lücke, so Paula Piechotta. „Von hitzeresistentem Bauen über Carbonbeton bis zum digitaleren und ressourcenschonenderen Bauen warten Themen auf ihre Bearbeitung.“

Torsten Herbst hält den Beschluss zum LAB mit dem Hauptsitz in Sachsen für einen Riesenerfolg. „Davon wird nicht nur der Landkreis Bautzen profitieren, sondern die gesamte sächsische Bauwirtschaft.“ Der Bundestagsabgeordnete bedankt sich besonders bei Professor Manfred Curbach und seinem Team der Technischen Universität Dresden für die professionelle Konzepterarbeitung sowie beim Bautzener Landrat Udo Witschas für die Unterstützung. Gemeinsam werden Torsten Herbst, Manfred Curbach und Udo Witschas am 20. November 2023 im Bautzener Landratsamt die Presse über weitere Details zum Aufbau des LAB wie den möglichen Standort informieren.

LAB hatte 2022 gegen Zentrum für Astrophysik verloren

Unter dem Namen „Lausitz Art of Building“ hatte das Bauforschungszentrum am Wettbewerb um ein Großforschungszentrum im Zuge des Strukturwandels in der Lausitz teilgenommen. Im Rahmen des Konzepts wollte sich das LAB in Görlitz und Bautzen ansiedeln. Im September 2022 fiel die Entscheidung zum Großforschungszentrum aber zugunsten des Deutschen Zentrums für Astrophysik.

Das Bautzener Landratsamt und die Stadt Bautzen hatten sich trotz der Niederlage weiter für das LAB und dessen Ansiedlung vor Ort eingesetzt. So schlug Bautzen Oberbürgermeister Karsten Vogt (CDU) im Sommer 2023 die Perfecta-Brache in der Innenstadt als möglichen LAB-Standort vor.

Der ursprüngliche Text wurde am 17. November 2023 um 14.07 Uhr deutlich erweitert und um Aussagen u.a. von Bautzens Landrat Udo Witschas (CDU), Bautzens OB Karsten Vogt (CDU), Professor Manfred Curbach sowie weitere Informationen zu dem Thema ergänzt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: