Search

IG Metall wants collective agreements for new chip factories in Dresden

At the first semiconductor conference, the union establishes an industry network to better represent the interests of employees.
Reading time: 3 Minutes
Bild zeigt die IG Metall Fahne.
A semiconductor conference takes place in Dresden for the first time at the invitation of IG Metall. Sebastian Schultz (symbolic image)

From Nora Miethke

At Infineon in Regensburg has the Industrial Union for Metal (IG Metall) 25 years ago, the company pushed through a collective agreement. The company has also been active in Saxony for even longer. The Infineon Dresden production site was founded in 1994, back then as part of Siemens. Today, around 3,300 employees work there - without a collective agreement.

Infineon has so far seen no need for this, as salaries in Dresden are close to the collective agreement for the metal and electrical industry, says Stefan Ehly, first authorized representative of IG Metall for Dresden and Riesa. But that is not enough, because there are deviations in working hours and there is no classification system for pay, says Ehly. The trade unionist believes that Infineon will not be able to afford this attitude for much longer and will "sooner or later" opt for collective bargaining at the Dresden site. "Infineon has to fill 1,000 new jobs at the second plant and many more due to fluctuation and demographics. The collective agreement is the best advertising argument to attract skilled workers," said Ehly on Wednesday at the first IG Metall semiconductor conference in Dresden.

Together with the head of the trade union, he invited employees to Saxony, Europe's largest microelectronics location, Silicon Saxony, to discuss how the federal government's billions in funding for new chip factories can also contribute to good working conditions for employees in these fabs. Around 100 works councils from 16 semiconductor companies across Germany came to Dresden to establish an industry network with the aim of better representing the interests of employees in the future. "Billions must not become billionaires," said Ehly in his welcoming address. If you demand good work and collective bargaining, you are often perceived as a sourpuss. "We are not sourpusses, but those who speak out about the hard location factors" that are important in the competition for talent. And these are increasingly more flexible working time models than salary levels.

"We have to enter into negotiations on the four-day week if this is demanded. We have to find intelligent solutions," emphasized Christiane Benner, Federal Chairwoman of IG Metall. She was responding to Michael Kretschmer, who, as a panel guest, repeatedly defended his position that Germany could not afford a further reduction in working hours and thus the volume of work for competitive reasons. Kretschmer criticized that if the trade union, as a collective bargaining partner, advocated a reduction, this was its priority and legitimate, but federal policy should not intervene by constantly introducing new laws to regulate working hours.

Benner emphasized that the trade union is fully behind the billions in subsidies for the relocation of TSMC in Dresden, Intel in Magdeburg or Wolf speed in Saarlouis. Microelectronics is a key industry that is necessary to maintain Germany as an industrial location and to master the ecological and digital transformation. "But working conditions must also be right in this industry of the future: Collective bargaining, collective agreements and co-determination through works councils," demanded the trade unionist. IG Metall does not expect to be presented with a ready-made collective agreement every time a new company is established. It would fight for that itself. But she does expect a basic understanding that taxpayers' money for the promotion of industrial relocations should be combined with job security and the start of collective bargaining. "I am completely undogmatic about this. But what is not possible is something like what happened at Tesla," said Benner. You can't roll out the red carpet to a company that doesn't want to play by the rules in our country. The industrial trade unions Metall and Chemie (IG BCE) are both courting employees in microelectronics in order to compensate for membership losses in the automotive industry and the lignite industry. Benner does not see any competition, although both unions claim to be the semiconductor union.

Related articles

"It's a good thing that IG BCE has reached a collective agreement with Globalfoundries," says Benner. The chemical union concluded a collective agreement with the US chip manufacturer a year ago. X-Fab in Dresden and Siltronic in Freiberg are also bound by collective agreements, the IG BCE pointed out in a press release in the run-up to the semiconductor conference. In the press release, the chemical union, together with Globalfoundries and X-Fab, invites employees to a "parliamentary breakfast" in Berlin in June.

IG Metall, on the other hand, has not yet been so successful in Saxony. Wage negotiations are underway with Bosch for the Dresden chip plant and there are hopes of a rethink at Infineon.

This might also interest you:

Suche

IG Metall will Tarifverträge für neue Chipfabriken in Dresden

Die Gewerkschaft gründet auf der ersten Halbleiterkonferenz ein Branchennetzwerk, um die Interessen der Beschäftigten besser durchzusetzen.
Lesedauer: 3 Minuten
Bild zeigt die IG Metall Fahne.
In Dresden findet erstmals eine Halbleiterkonferenz auf Einladung der IG Metall statt. © Sebastian Schultz (Symbolbild)

Von Nora Miethke

Bei Infineon in Regensburg hat die Industriegewerkschaft Metall (IG Metall) vor 25 Jahren einen Tarifvertrag durchgesetzt. Noch länger ist das Unternehmen auch in Sachsen aktiv. Der Fertigungsstandort Infineon Dresden wurde 1994 gegründet, damals noch als Teil von Siemens. Heute arbeiten dort etwa 3.300 Beschäftigte – ohne Tarifvertrag.

Infineon sähe bislang keinen Bedarf dafür, da die Gehälter in Dresden nahe am Tarifvertrag der Metall- und Elektroindustrie dran seien, sagt Stefan Ehly, erster Bevollmächtigter der IG Metall für Dresden und Riesa. Doch das reiche nicht, denn es gäbe Abweichungen bei der Arbeitszeit und es fehle ein Eingruppierungssystem für die Vergütung, so Ehly. Der Gewerkschafter glaubt, dass sich Infineon diese Einstellung nicht mehr lange erlauben könne und sich „früher oder später“ für die Tarifbindung am Dresdner Standort entscheiden werden. „Infineon muss 1.000 neue Arbeitsplätze im zweiten Werk besetzen und aufgrund von Fluktuation und Demografie noch viel mehr. Da ist der Tarifvertrag das schlagende Werbeargument, um an Fachkräfte zu kommen“, sagte Ehly am Mittwoch auf der ersten Halbleiterkonferenz der IG Metall in Dresden.

Gemeinsam mit der Spitze der Gewerkschaft hat er nach Sachsen eingeladen, um an Europas größtem Mikroelektronikstandort, dem Silicon Saxony, darüber zu diskutieren, wie die Milliardenförderung der Bundesregierung für neue Chipfabriken auch zu guten Arbeitsbedingungen der Beschäftigten in diesen Fabs beitragen kann. Rund 100 Betriebsräte aus 16 Halbleiterunternehmen bundesweit kamen, auch um in Dresden ein Branchennetzwerk zu gründen mit dem Ziel, die Interessen der Arbeitnehmenden künftig gemeinsam besser zu vertreten. „Aus den Milliarden dürfen keine Milliardäre werden“, so Ehly in seiner Begrüßung. Wenn man gute Arbeit und Tarifbindung einfordere, werde man oft als Miesepeter wahrgenommen. „Wir sind keine Miesepeter, sondern jene, die die harten Standortfaktoren aussprechen“, auf die es ankommt im Wettbewerb um Talente. Und das sind zunehmend mehr flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle als die Höhe des Gehalts.

„Man muss sich auf Verhandlungen zur Vier-Tage-Woche einlassen, wenn das gefordert wird. Wir müssen dafür intelligente Lösungen finden“, betonte die IG-Metall-Bundesvorsitzende Christiane Benner. Sie konterte damit auf Michael Kretschmer, der als Podiumsgast wiederholt seine Position vertreten hat, dass sich Deutschland aus Wettbewerbsgründen eine weitere Verkürzung der Arbeitszeit und damit des Arbeitsvolumens nicht leisten könne. Wenn sich die Gewerkschaft als Tarifpartnerin für eine Absenkung einsetze, sei das ihre Priorität und legitim, aber die Bundespolitik dürfe nicht durch immer wieder neue Gesetze zur Arbeitszeitregulierung eingreifen, kritisierte Kretschmer.

Benner betonte, dass die Gewerkschaft voll hinter den Milliarden-Subventionen für die Ansiedlungen von TSMC in Dresden, Intel in Magdeburg oder Wolfsspeed in Saarlouis stehe. Die Mikroelektronik sei eine Schlüsselindustrie, die notwendig ist, um den Industriestandort Deutschland insgesamt zu erhalten und um die ökologische wie digitale Transformation zu bewältigen. „Aber in dieser Zukunftsbranche müssen auch die Arbeitsbedingungen stimmen: Tarifbindung, Tarifverträge und Mitbestimmung durch Betriebsräte“, forderte die Gewerkschafterin. Die IG Metall erwarte nicht, bei jeder Neuansiedlung den fertigen Tarifvertrag vorgelegt zu bekommen. Den würde sie schon selbst erkämpfen. Aber sie erwarte ein Grundverständnis dafür, dass Steuergelder für die Förderung von Industrieansiedlungen verbunden werden mit Beschäftigungssicherung und den Einstieg in Tarifverhandlungen. „Ich bin da ganz undogmatisch. Aber was nicht geht, ist so etwas, was bei Tesla passiert ist“, so Benner. Man könne nicht einem Unternehmen den roten Teppich ausrollen, das sich nicht an die Spielregeln in unserem Land halten wolle. Die Industriegewerkschaften Metall und Chemie (IG BCE) werben beide um die Beschäftigten in der Mikroelektronik, um Mitgliederverluste in der Automobilindustrie und der Braunkohlewirtschaft ausgleichen zu können. Konkurrenz sieht Benner nicht, obwohl beide Gewerkschaften für sich beanspruchen, die Halbleitergewerkschaft zu sein.

Weiterführende Artikel

„Das ist doch gut, wenn die IG BCE Globalfoundries tarifiert hat“, so Benner. Die Chemie-Gewerkschaft hat mit dem US-Chiphersteller vor einem Jahr einen Tarifvertrag abgeschlossen. Auch X-Fab in Dresden und Siltronic in Freiberg seien tarifgebunden, wies die IG BCE im Vorfeld der Halbleiterkonferenz per Pressemitteilung hin. Die Chemiegewerkschaft lädt darin gemeinsam mit Globalfoundries und X-Fab zu einem „parlamentarischen Frühstück“ im Juni in Berlin ein.

Die IG Metall war dagegen in Sachsen bislang noch nicht so erfolgreich. Mit Bosch würden Tarifverhandlungen für das Dresdner Chipwerk laufen und bei Infineon wird auf ein Umdenken gehofft.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: