Search

Search

Cartel office says yes to Bosch and Infineon chip factory investment

The Taiwanese semiconductor manufacturer TSMC wants to produce microchips for the automotive industry in Dresden. Bosch, Infineon and NXP may participate.

Reading time: < 1 minute

Man sieht die Logos folgender Firmen: Infineon, Bosch und TSMC.
Bosch, Infineon and NXP may each acquire 10 percent of the shares in the European Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (ESMC) founded by the Taiwanese chip group TSMC © Archive image: ronaldbonss.com; xcitepress; dpa

Bonn/DresdenThe German Federal Cartel Office has announced the planned participation of the automotive supplier Bosch and the chip manufacturer Infineon and NXP The construction of a new billion-euro semiconductor factory in Dresden has been approved.

The three companies may each acquire 10 percent of the shares in the company founded by the Taiwanese chip group TSMC European Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (ESMC), as the federal authority announced in Bonn on Tuesday. TSMC will hold 70 percent of the company in future.

"The geopolitical upheavals of the recent past have shown how important secure access to semiconductors is, especially for German industry," said Andreas Mundt, head of the authority. He does not believe that competition will be affected and that the investments are "fully compliant with merger control regulations".

The technology companies Bosch from Baden-Württemberg, Infineon from Bavaria and NXP from the Netherlands need large quantities of chips for their products, some of which they build themselves and some of which they obtain from contract manufacturers such as TSMC.

The ground-breaking ceremony for the new factory, which is also being made possible thanks to extensive subsidies, is scheduled to take place in the second half of 2024, with production expected to start in 2027. Most of the chips manufactured in Dresden will probably be used in cars. (dpa)

This might also interest you:

Suche

Kartellamt sagt Ja zu Chipfabrik-Beteiligung von Bosch und Infineon

Der taiwanesische Halbleiterhersteller TSMC will in Dresden Mikrochips für die Autoindustrie herstellen. Bosch, Infineon und NXP dürfen sich beteiligen.
Lesedauer: < 1 minute
Man sieht die Logos folgender Firmen: Infineon, Bosch und TSMC.
Bosch, Infineon und NXP dürfen jeweils 10 Prozent der Anteile an der vom taiwanesischen Chipkonzern TSMC gegründeten Firma European Semiconductor Manufactoring Company (ESMC) erwerben © Archivbild: ronaldbonss.com; xcitepress; dpa

Bonn/DresdenDas Bundeskartellamt hat die geplante Beteiligung des Automobilzulieferers Bosch sowie der Chiphersteller Infineon und NXP an einer neuen milliardenschweren Halbleiter-Fabrik in Dresden freigegeben.

Die drei Firmen dürfen jeweils 10 Prozent der Anteile an der vom taiwanesischen Chipkonzern TSMC gegründeten Firma European Semiconductor Manufactoring Company (ESMC) erwerben, wie die Bundesbehörde am Dienstag in Bonn mitteilte. TSMC wird künftig 70 Prozent an dem Unternehmen halten.

„Die geopolitischen Verwerfungen der jüngeren Vergangenheit haben gezeigt, wie wichtig gesicherter Zugang zu Halbleitern gerade auch für die deutsche Industrie ist“, sagte Behördenchef Andreas Mundt. Den Wettbewerb sieht er nicht beeinträchtigt, die Beteiligungen seien „voll im Einklang mit den fusionskontrollrechtlichen Vorgaben“.

Die Technologiefirmen Bosch aus Baden-Württemberg, Infineon aus Bayern und NXP aus den Niederlanden brauchen für ihre Produkte große Mengen an Chips, die sie teilweise selbst bauen und teilweise von Auftragsfertigern wie TSMC bekommen.

Der Spatenstich der neuen Fabrik, die auch dank umfangreicher Subventionen ermöglicht wird, soll in der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2024 erfolgen, der Produktionsstart wird für 2027 angestrebt. Die in Dresden gefertigten Chips werden wohl zum großen Teil in Autos verbaut werden. (dpa)

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: