Search

Search

Millions for infrastructure

If you want to attract skilled workers, you have to actively recruit and invest in your own infrastructure. Leipzig does both.

Reading time: 2 Minutes

Blick auf Leipzig
Leipzig has a lot to offer. To keep it that way, investments are being made in the infrastructure. Photo: Adobestock

By Annett Kschieschan

Leipzig. Leipzig is lovable and worth living in. This has a lot to do with its rich history, cosmopolitanism and modern flair. But it's also clear that a city that wants to be attractive for residents and newcomers alike must continue to invest in its infrastructure. Leipzig is doing this continuously - from its own resources, but also with subsidies. Just recently, the Free State and the EU pledged 8.8 million euros. On September 13, Prime Minister Michael Kretzschmer handed over the corresponding decision for the funding period 2021 to 2027 to Mayor Thomas Dienberg. What is to happen with it has long been planned. The eastern part of Messestadt will benefit from the cash injection.
"The promise of funding for the new funding period gives us the security to tackle the planned projects," says Thomas Dienberg. The funding program is an important building block for the development of the neighborhood. The money is expected to bring many improvements, from a structural, but also from an economic and social point of view. "This holistic strengthening radiates beyond the assisted area and produces positive effects for the whole of Leipzig," says the mayor.
The 8.8 million euros are part of the total costs of 12.6 million euros, as the city must also provide 30 percent of its own funds. In the previous funding period between 2014 and 2020, a total of 9.9 million euros had been invested, with 8 million euros in funding.
The money is to flow into the expansion of the Park Arc East, for example. The plan is to close existing gaps in the northeastern and southeastern sections of the green active strip. A new pedestrian and bicycle path will connect Leipzig's east with the neighboring neighborhoods. According to the city administration, the large-scale project will expand the green infrastructure and the range of sustainable mobility options.
Both are important, especially for young people. And Leipzig needs them not only for the many prospering business projects, such as the new Panattoni Campus being built on Merseburger Strasse.

Advertising for skilled workers
Leipzig is actively recruiting new residents, most recently even in the Far East. In mid-September, a municipal business delegation, led by First Mayor Torsten Bonew and Social Mayor Dr. Martina Münch, accompanied representatives of the Leipzig Transport Services as well as the St. George Clinic and of the University Hospital to Vietnam. The city and the company presented themselves at various events in order to make working in Leipzig attractive to Vietnamese specialists and potential trainees. A memorandum of understanding to this effect was signed by Katrin Lukas, LVB's Managing Director of Human Resources and Driving Services, at the German Embassy in Hanoi.
The approach is clear: Those who come to Leipzig not only find jobs with a future, but also a home in the heart of Saxony - and at the same time in the middle of Europe.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Suche

Millionen für die Infrastruktur

Wer Fachkräfte anlocken will, muss aktiv werben und in die eigene Infrastruktur investieren. Leipzig tut beides.

Lesedauer: 2 Minuten

Blick auf Leipzig
Leipzig hat viel zu bieten. Damit das so bleibt, wird in die Infrastruktur investiert. Foto: Adobestock

Von Annett Kschieschan

Leipzig. Leipzig ist liebens- und lebenswert. Das hat viel mit gewachsener Geschichte, mit Weltoffenheit und modernem Flair zu tun. Doch klar ist auch: Eine Stadt, die attraktiv für alteingesessene Bewohner und Zuzügler gleichermaßen sein will, muss weiter in ihre Infrastruktur investieren. Das tut Leipzig kontinuierlich – aus eigener Kraft, aber auch mit Fördermitteln. Gerade erst kam die Zusage für 8,8 Millionen Euro von Freistaat und EU. Ministerpräsident Michael Kretzschmer hat den entsprechenden Bescheid für die Förderperiode 2021 bis 2027 am 13. September an Baubürgermeister Thomas Dienberg übergeben. Was damit geschehen soll, ist längst geplant. Der Osten der Messestadt wird von der Finanzspritze profitieren.
„Die Zusage der Fördermittel für die neue Förderperiode gibt uns die Sicherheit, die geplanten Projekte anzugehen,“ so Thomas Dienberg. Das Förderprogramm sei ein wichtiger Baustein für die Entwicklung des Quartiers. Das Geld soll viele Verbesserungen bringen, aus baulicher, aber auch aus wirtschaftlicher und sozialer Sicht. „Diese ganzheitliche Stärkung strahlt über das Fördergebiet hinaus und bewirkt positive Effekte für ganz Leipzig“, so der Bürgermeister.
Die 8,8 Millionen sind Teil der Gesamtkosten in Höhe von 12,6 Millionen Euro, da die Stadt auch 30 Prozent Eigenmittel aufbringen muss. In der zurückliegenden Förderperiode zwischen 2014 und 2020 waren insgesamt 9,9 Millionen Euro investiert worden, bei 8 Millionen Euro Förderung.
Fließen soll das Geld etwa in den Ausbau des Parkbogens Ost. Geplant ist, bestehende Lücken im nordöstlichen und südöstlichen Bereich des grünen Aktivbandes zu schließen. Ein neuer Fuß- und Radweg soll den Leipziger Osten mit den angrenzenden Quartieren verbinden. Das Großprojekt erweitert nach Angaben der Stadtverwaltung die grüne Infrastruktur und das Angebot für nachhaltige Mobilität.
Beides ist vor allem jungen Leuten wichtig. Und die braucht Leipzig nicht nur für die vielen prosperierenden Wirtschaftsprojekte, etwa den neuen Panattoni-Campus, der an der Merseburger Straße entsteht.

Werbung um Fachkräfte
Leipzig wirbt aktiv um den Zuzug neuer Einwohner, zuletzt sogar in Fernost. Mitte September begleitete eine städtische Wirtschaftsdelegation, geleitet vom Ersten Bürgermeister Torsten Bonew sowie Sozialbürgermeisterin Dr. Martina Münch, Vertreter der Leipziger Verkehrsbetriebe sowie des Klinikums St. Georg und des Universitätsklinikums nach Vietnam. Vor Ort stellten sich Stadt und Unternehmen bei verschiedensten Veranstaltungen vor, um vietnamesischen Fachkräften beziehungsweise potenziellen Azubis die Arbeit in Leipzig schmackhaft zu machen. Ein entsprechendes „Memorandum of Understanding“ unterzeichnete die LVB-Geschäftsführerin Personal und Fahrservice, Katrin Lukas in der deutschen Botschaft in Hanoi.
Der Ansatz ist klar: Wer nach Leipzig kommt, findet nicht nur Jobs mit Zukunft, sondern auch ein Zuhause im Herzen von Sachsen – und gleichzeitig mitten in Europa.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: