Search

Pirna entrepreneur converts public bus into store

Carzone owner Maik Lange is expanding his self-service workshop in Copitz to include a branch of business - something that was not originally planned.
Reading time: 4 Minutes
Das Bild zeit einen Mann vor einem Bus.
Carzone owner Maik Lange with his new parts bus: twelve square meters for sales, twelve square meters for storage. © Daniel Schäfer

From Thomas Möckel

Maik Lange stands in front of his new acquisition. It arrived a few days ago, a huge load. The low-loader alone was 18 meters long, and the cargo itself measured twelve meters in length. Lange is the owner of "Carzone Pirna", a self-service workshop where car owners can tinker with their bodies, a kind of supervised screwing, it is located directly behind the new DRK rescue station in Pirna-Copitz. Most customers repair or refine their cars there.

Lange's new acquisition is a few sizes larger, a public bus, MAN brand, lime green, until some time ago still in use in the Vogtlandkreis, ready to drive. Lange drove it himself from the low loader to its current location, just behind the workshop. He found it at a dealer in Halle, a bargain, as he says. There is plenty of space inside, 24 square meters, twelve for sales, twelve for storage.

The bus was not actually planned this way, but in this case it was the fastest and most practical solution. "It's an eye-catcher and a publicity stunt at the same time," says the entrepreneur. The big bus will be Lange's new store, a business segment he wants to develop with his company, which he has been running in Pirna for six years now - with growing success.

Apprenticeship, army, studies - and then a company
Lange, 36, a native of Görlitz, originally trained as a sports and fitness merchant, then spent a long time in the German armed forces, stationed in Marienberg. After his army career ended, he wanted to do something with cars. "I was very interested in that," he says. Lange went on to study business administration, and at the same time he completed an internship in a Dresden car repair shop to acquire knowledge and skills.

He then looked around for a site for his own business, initially in the state capital, where he had moved with his wife after his time in the Bundeswehr. However, an affordable hall could not be found in Dresden, so Pirna came into play a little later. Lange had discovered an advertisement offering a hall for rent on the site of the former transmission plant under the Sachsenbrücke bridge.

Lange was one of about 20 applicants, but probably the first to go, he got the hall and took it immediately. Inside, it offered enough space for his first workshop, and the area in front of it was large enough for tuning meetings, where the entrepreneur also acquired some customers. The step into self-employment was successful, and the company "Carzone Pirna" has been in business since July 2017.

At Pirna's Saxony Bridge: The screwdriver is himself

Lange doesn't like to hear the term self-help workshop, it sounds too much like a self-help group, but the people who come to him are prepared and coordinated, know what they want to do, and many have acquired their wrenching knowledge in Internet tutorials. Lange sees his company more as a self-service workshop than a place to practice, where customers with often astonishing prior knowledge lend a hand to their cars themselves.

His customers, says Lange, are between 18 and 84 years old, young people often tune their cars, and many also restore older models such as Trabant and Wartburg. In addition, in times of increased new and used car prices, as well as workshop costs that are now unaffordable for many, the entrepreneur profits from the fact that people take care of their cars and no longer give them away. The cars that come to his self-service workshop are on average 20 years old.

Business was good at the first location, and Lange was very satisfied with the occupancy rate, generating steady growth of five to ten percent there. The shop was open from 3 p.m. to midnight, and customers often worked until well after midnight. The problem, however, was that the site of the former transmission plant lacked walk-in customers, and Lange was only a tenant there.

Das Bild zeigt einen umgebautzen Bus.
Converted bus, still roadworthy: Perhaps it will later become a mobile store or a snack bar. © Daniel Schäfer

Customers accept long distances

Through the Stadtentwicklungsgesellschaft Pirna (SEP), he found his own plot of land on Lohmener Straße behind the new DRK rescue station, and his company has been based in Copitz since last fall. Lange had a new hall built, inside there are five lifting platforms, including a heavy-duty platform for transporters. There are considerably more walk-in customers at the new location. "From November 2022 to June 2023 alone, sales have doubled," says the entrepreneur.

The business model: Carzone provides lifting platforms, workstations and tools, and customers pay a rent for them. Lange also advises the mechanics, which he does free of charge; he wants everyone to leave the yard satisfied. In the meantime, this has earned him a loyal customer base. The catchment area is 50 kilometers and more, and the mechanics come from Pirna, Dresden, Radeberg, Kamenz, Bautzen and Meißen, for example. Since the move, business has been so good that he hired his first permanent employee in February.

Another workplace is to be created

And because many have had bad experiences with online retail, customers can order parts through him, they usually arrive quickly, Carzone is delivered seven times a day. That and a business closure ultimately led Lange to sell some accessories himself. One of his suppliers, a store on Fährstraße in Pirna-Copitz, has been closed since Sept. 1. Lange decided to take over this parts sale and, if possible, also the customer base.

But that had to happen quickly. Lange initially wanted to set up sales containers, but that would have taken too long because he would have needed a building permit for that, which could not be obtained so quickly. That's when he came up with the idea of the bus, which he converted into a sales and storage area. Initially, it was to remain at the workshop. But because the large vehicle is still roadworthy, Lange wants to use it later as a mobile store, or maybe he'll build a snack bar in it - he has plenty of ideas. And if things continue to go so well, he plans to hire a second employee before the end of the year - who will then be responsible for the entire bus.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Suche

Pirnaer Unternehmer baut Linienbus zum Laden um

Carzone-Inhaber Maik Lange erweitert seine SB-Werkstatt in Copitz um einen Geschäftszweig – was so ursprünglich gar nicht geplant war.

Lesedauer: 4 Minuten

Das Bild zeit einen Mann vor einem Bus.
Carzone-Inhaber Maik Lange mit seinem neuen Teile-Bus: Zwölf Quadratmeter für den Verkauf, zwölf Quadratmeter für das Lager. © Daniel Schäfer

Von Thomas Möckel

Maik Lange steht vor seiner neuen Errungenschaft. Vor einigen Tagen ist sie eingetroffen, eine riesige Fuhre, allein der Tieflader war 18 Meter lang, das Transportgut selbst misst in der Länge zwölf Meter. Lange ist Inhaber der „Carzone Pirna“, eine SB-Werkstatt, in der Autobesitzer an ihren Karossen frickeln können, eine Art betreutes Schrauben, sie liegt unmittelbar hinter der neuen DRK-Rettungswache in Pirna-Copitz. Die meisten Kunden reparieren oder veredeln dort ihre Pkw.

Langes Neuerwerb ist ein paar Nummern größer, ein Linienbus, Marke MAN, lindgrün, bis vor einiger Zeit noch im Vogtlandkreis im Einsatz, fahrbereit. Lange hat ihn selbst vom Tieflader an seinen jetzigen Standort gelenkt, gleich hinter der Werkstatt. Gefunden hat er ihn bei einem Händler in Halle, ein Schnäppchen, wie er sagt. Drinnen ist ausreichend Platz, 24 Quadratmeter, zwölf für den Verkauf, zwölf für das Lager.

Geplant war der Bus so eigentlich nicht, aber er war in diesem Fall die schnellste und praktikabelste Lösung. „Er ist ein Hingucker und Werbegag zugleich“, sagt der Unternehmer. Die Großkarosse wird Langes neuer Laden, ein Geschäftsfeld, das er sich erschließen will mit seinem Betrieb, den er seit mittlerweile sechs Jahren in Pirna betreibt – mit wachsendem Erfolg.

Lehre, Armee, Studium – und dann ein Unternehmen
Lange, 36, gebürtiger Görlitzer, hat ursprünglich Sport- und Fitnesskaufmann gelernt, war dann lange bei der Bundeswehr, stationiert in Marienberg. Nach dem Ende seiner Armee-Laufbahn wollte er etwas mit Autos machen. „Daran hatte ich großes Interesse“, erzählt er. Lange schloss ein Studium zum Wirtschaftsfachwirt an, nebenher absolvierte er ein Praktikum in einer Dresdner Kfz-Werkstatt, um sich Wissen und Handgriffe anzueignen.

Danach sah er sich nach einem Grundstück für einen eignen Betrieb um, zunächst in der Landeshauptstadt, wo er nach seiner Bundeswehr-Zeit mit seiner Frau hingezogen war. Eine bezahlbare Halle war in Dresden aber nicht zu finden, so kam wenig später Pirna ins Spiel. Lange hatte eine Anzeige entdeckt, darin wurde eine Halle offeriert, zu vermieten auf dem Gelände des früheren Getriebewerkes unter der Sachsenbrücke.

Lange war einer von etwa 20 Bewerbern, aber wohl der Erste, der hinfuhr, er bekam die Halle und nahm sie sofort. Drinnen bot sie genug Platz für seine erste Werkstatt, die Fläche davor war groß genug für Tuning-Treffen, bei denen der Unternehmer auch einige Kunden akquirierte. Der Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit war gelungen, seit Juli 2017 gibt es die Firma „Carzone Pirna“.

An Pirnas Sachsenbrücke: Selbst ist der Schrauber

Den Begriff Selbsthilfe-Werkstatt hört Lange nicht so gern, es klingt zu sehr nach Selbsthilfegruppe, die Leute, die zu ihm kommen, sind jedoch vorbereitet und koordiniert, wissen, was sie tun wollen, viele haben sie sich ihr Schrauber-Wissen in Internet-Tutorials angeeignet. Lange sieht seine Firma eher als SB-Werkstatt, als ein Ausübungsort, wo die Kunden mit oft erstaunlichen Vorkenntnissen selbst Hand an ihre Autos legen.

Seine Kunden, sagt Lange, sind zwischen 18 und 84 Jahre alt, junge Leute tunen oft ihre Wagen, viele restaurieren auch ältere Modelle wie Trabant und Wartburg. Zudem profitiert der Unternehmer in Zeiten gestiegener Neu- und Gebrauchtwagenpreise sowie für viele inzwischen unerschwinglicher Werkstattkosten davon, dass die Leute ihre Autos pflegen und nicht mehr hergeben. Die Wagen, die in seine SB-Werkstatt kommen, sind im Schnitt 20 Jahre alt.

Das Geschäft lief gut am ersten Standort, Lange war mit der Auslastung sehr zufrieden, er generierte dort ein stetiges Wachstum von fünf bis zehn Prozent. Geöffnet war von 15 bis 24 Uhr, oft schraubten die Kunden auch bis weit nach Mitternacht. Das Problem allerdings: Auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Getriebewerkes fehlte die Laufkundschaft, und Lange war dort nur eingemietet.

Das Bild zeigt einen umgebautzen Bus.
Umgebauter Bus, noch fahrbereit: Vielleicht wird daraus später ein mobiler Laden oder ein Imbiss. © Daniel Schäfer

Kunden nehmen weite Wege in Kauf

Über die Stadtentwicklungsgesellschaft Pirna (SEP) fand er ein eigenes Grundstück an der Lohmener Straße hinter der neuen DRK-Rettungswache, seit Herbst vergangenen Jahres ist sein Firmensitz in Copitz. Lange ließ eine neue Halle bauen, drinnen gibt es fünf Hebebühnen, darunter eine Schwerlastbühne für Transporter. Am neuen Standort gibt es wesentlich mehr Laufkundschaft. „Allein von November 2022 bis Juni 2023 hat sich der Umsatz verdoppelt“, sagt der Unternehmer.

Das Geschäftsmodell: Carzone stellt Hebebühnen, Arbeitsplätze und Werkzeug bereit, die Kunden zahlen dafür eine Miete. Lange berät die Schrauber auch, das macht er kostenlos, er möchte, dass jeder zufrieden vom Hof fährt. Das hat ihm mittlerweile einen treuen Kundenstamm eingebracht. Das Einzugsgebiet beträgt 50 Kilometer und mehr, die Schrauber kommen beispielsweise aus Pirna, Dresden, Radeberg, Kamenz, Bautzen und Meißen. Seit dem Umzug läuft das Geschäft so gut, dass er im Februar einen ersten Mitarbeiter fest anstellte.

Ein weiterer Arbeitsplatz soll entstehen

Und weil viele schon mal schlechte Erfahrungen mit dem Online-Handel gemacht haben, können die Kunden über ihn Teile bestellen, sie sind in der Regel schnell da, Carzone wird siebenmal täglich beliefert. Das und eine Geschäftsaufgabe brachten Lange letztendlich dazu, einiges Zubehör selbst zu verkaufen. Einer seiner Lieferanten, ein Laden auf der Fährstraße in Pirna-Copitz, hat seit dem 1. September geschlossen. Lange entschloss sich, diesen Teileverkauf und möglichst auch den Kundenstamm zu übernehmen.

Das musste aber zügig gehen. Lange wollte zunächst Verkaufscontainer aufstellen, doch das hätte zu lange gedauert, weil er dafür eine Baugenehmigung benötigt hätte, die so schnell nicht zu bekommen war. Da kam ihm die Idee mit dem Bus, den er zum Verkaufs- und Lagerraum umgebaut hat. Zunächst soll er an der Werkstatt stehenbleiben. Weil die Großkarosse aber noch fahrbereit ist, will Lange später damit vielleicht mal als mobiler Laden herumfahren, vielleicht baut er auch einen Imbiss hinein, Ideen hat er genug. Und wenn es weiter so gut läuft, will er noch in diesem Jahr einen zweiten Mitarbeiter einstellen – der dann den Bus komplett betreut.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: