Search

Porsche opens new experience workshop in Leipzig

The car manufacturer Porsche has expanded the promotion of young talent in Leipzig with an experience workshop. Minister President Michael Kretschmer also attends the opening - and promotes technical professions.
Reading time: 2 Minutes
Man sieht die Porsche Erlebniswerkstatt.
Instructor Lars Bergemann explains a 4-cylinder Boxer engine to students at the Porsche Experience Workshop in Leipzig. © dpa/Jan Woitas

By Sven Heitkamp

A miniature car factory, a complete Macan on a lifting platform and a large workbench full of engines: The PorscheAfter a one-year break for renovation work, the Group reopened its former student workshop in Leipzig as an "experience workshop" with a large number of political celebrities in attendance, in order to expand its support for young talent.

The courses and offerings are aimed at children and young people in grades 3 to 9, where participants can learn how a car is made and what is behind internal combustion, electric and hybrid engines. They will also learn about car production, drive concepts and new mobility. The workshop is located in a training center of the Association of German Engineers (VDI) under the name "GaraGe". The technology center in Leipzig-Plagwitz offers young people the chance to try out skilled trades, technology and science in practical courses, workshops and vacation camps.

Porsche's experience workshop also wants to help get young people interested in technical professions at an early stage, said Leipzig plant manager Gerd Rupp. To date, the luxury car brand has not suffered from a shortage of skilled workers. "But we are experiencing a noticeable decline in the number of applicants," Rupp said. The Leipzig site hires 30 new apprentices every year, he said. The courses offered by Autoschmiede in the "GaraGe" are a perfect place to give children practical access to mathematics, computer science, natural sciences and technology at a young age, to show them the career opportunities and to get them excited about automotive topics, he said. The Group has spent a six-figure sum on the redesign and new orientation of the workshop - without any subsidies. Porsche also wants to make a contribution to society in this way.

Prime Minister Michael Kretschmer (CDU) stressed at the opening that it was not a matter of pitting professional groups against each other. "All have their place." However, he said, he is now promoting careers in mathematics, computer science, engineering and the natural sciences because they are less popularly occupied by the public. "But they are the foundation of our prosperity."

The joy of technology is also the basis for the expansion of new mobility, climate protection solutions and sustainable industrial production. Saxony was once Germany's engineering hotbed, he said. "We must continue to be so," said Kretschmer. He himself trained as an office information electronics technician and, after graduating from high school, completed a degree in industrial engineering.

Leipzig's Lord Mayor Burkhard Jung (SPD) also emphasized the role of companies: "We are campaigning intensively for business to assume its responsibility for young people." This also applies to disadvantaged young people in particular. He said it was "unbearable" for him that one in ten young people still leaves school without a diploma. "That's where we have to step in." GaraGe is a beacon project for this.

The practice-oriented training center was opened back in 2002. It offers ten technical experience worlds for young people on 1,200 square meters and has 10,000 day visitors a year. In the future, the offer will be further expanded, said the educational director of the house, Birgit Walther. The team was increased by four to ten employees this summer, she said. Various projects are supported by the VDI, companies, the federal government, the EU and the city of Leipzig. Next Saturday, September 9, an open house is planned from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. - when the Porsche Erlebniswerkstatt will also be on display.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Suche

Porsche eröffnet neue Erlebniswerkstatt in Leipzig

Der Automobilhersteller Porsche hat in Leipzig mit einer Erlebniswerkstatt die Nachwuchsförderung ausgebaut. Zur Eröffnung kommt auch Ministerpräsident Michael Kretschmer – und wirbt für technische Berufe.

Lesedauer: 2 Minuten

Man sieht die Porsche Erlebniswerkstatt.
Ausbilder Lars Bergemann erläutert Schülern einen 4-Zylinder-Boxermotor in der Porsche Erlebniswerkstatt in Leipzig. © dpa/Jan Woitas

Von Sven Heitkamp

Eine Autofabrik im Miniatur-Format, ein kompletter Macan auf einer Hebebühne und eine große Werkbank voller Motoren: Der Porsche-Konzern hat nach einjähriger Umbaupause seine bisherige Schülerwerkstatt in Leipzig mit viel Politprominenz als „Erlebniswerkstatt“ wiedereröffnet, um seine Nachwuchsförderung auszubauen.

Die Kurse und Angebote richten sich an Kinder und Jugendliche der Klassen 3 bis 9. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer sollen dort lernen können, wie ein Auto entsteht und was sich hinter Verbrenner-, Elektro- und Hybrid-Motoren verbirgt. Außerdem geht es um die Themen Autoproduktion, Antriebskonzepte und neue Mobilität. Angesiedelt ist die Werkstatt in einem Ausbildungshaus des Vereins Deutscher Ingenieure (VDI) unter dem Namen „GaraGe“. Das Technologiezentrum in Leipzig-Plagwitz bietet jungen Leute die Chance, Handwerksberufe, Technik und Naturwissenschaften in Kursen, Workshops und Feriencamps praktisch zu erproben.

Auch die Erlebniswerkstatt von Porsche wolle dazu beitragen, Jugendliche frühzeitig für technische Berufe zu begeistern, sagte der Leipziger Werkleiter Gerd Rupp. Die Luxus-Automarke leide bislang zwar nicht unter Fachkräftemangel. „Aber wir erleben einen spürbaren Rückgang der Bewerberzahlen“, so Rupp. Der Standort in Leipzig stelle jedes Jahr 30 neue Auszubildende ein. Das Kursangebot der Autoschmiede in der „GaraGe“ sei ein perfekter Platz, um Kindern schon in jungen Jahren einen praktischen Zugang zu Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik zu eröffnen, die Berufsmöglichkeiten aufzuzeigen und für Autothemen zu begeistern. Für die Neugestaltung und neue Ausrichtung der Werkstatt habe der Konzern einen sechsstelligen Betrag ausgegeben – ohne Fördergelder. Porsche wolle damit auch einen Beitrag für die Gesellschaft leisten.

Ministerpräsident Michael Kretschmer (CDU) betonte bei der Eröffnung, es gehe nicht darum, Berufsgruppen gegeneinander auszuspielen. „Alle haben ihre Berechtigung.“ Er werbe jetzt jedoch für Berufe in Mathematik, Informatik, Maschinenbau und Naturwissenschaften, weil sie in der Öffentlichkeit weniger populär besetzt seien. „Sie bilden aber die Grundlage für unseren Wohlstand.“

Die Freude an Technik sei zudem die Basis für den Ausbau von neuer Mobilität, Klimaschutz-Lösungen und nachhaltige Industrieproduktion. Sachsen sei einmal die Ingenieurschmiede Deutschlands gewesen. „Das müssen wir weiter bleiben“, so Kretschmer. Er selbst habe eine Ausbildung zum Büroinformationselektroniker gemacht und nach dem Abitur auf dem zweiten Bildungsweg ein Studium als Diplom-Wirtschaftsingenieur abgeschlossen.

Leipzigs Oberbürgermeister Burkhard Jung (SPD) betonte dabei auch die Rolle der Unternehmen: „Wir werben intensiv dafür, dass die Wirtschaft ihre Verantwortung für junge Leute wahrnimmt.“ Dies gelte gerade auch für benachteiligte Jugendliche. Es sei für ihn „unerträglich“, dass immer noch jeder zehnte Jugendliche die Schule ohne Abschluss verlasse. „Da müssen wir ran.“ Die GaraGe sei dafür ein Leuchtturmprojekt.

Das praxisorientierte Ausbildungshaus wurde schon 2002 eröffnet. Es bietet auf 1.200 Quadratmetern zehn Technikerlebniswelten für junge Leute und hat im Jahr 10.000 Tagesbesucher. Künftig wird das Angebot weiter ausgebaut, sagte die pädagogische Leiterin des Hauses, Birgit Walther. Das Team sei in diesem Sommer um vier auf zehn Beschäftigte aufgestockt worden. Verschiedene Projekte würden vom VDI, Unternehmen, Bund, EU und der Stadt Leipzig gefördert. Am kommenden Sonnabend, dem 9. September, ist von 10 bis 15 Uhr ein Tag der offenen Tür geplant – dann ist auch die Porsche Erlebniswerkstatt zu sehen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: