Search

Search

Saxony's best restaurant surprisingly closes down

Saxony's leading high-end restaurant "Falco" in Leipzig has been closed without prior notice. It is currently unclear what will happen to the staff and the classy address.

Reading time: 2 Minutes

Man sieht den Leipziger Küchenchef, Peter Maria Schnurr, in der Küche
Leipzig chef Peter Maria Schnurr made the "Falco" restaurant in Leipzig the best in Saxony. Now, surprisingly, it's over. © Archive photo: dpa/Jan Woitas

From Ulrich Wolf

Leipzig. The best gourmet restaurant in Saxony has closed unexpectedly and at short notice. This affects the "Falco" in Leipzig, the best culinary address in the Free State according to the Gault Millau 2023/24 restaurant guide. First reported by the Bild newspaper and the Leipziger Volkszeitung about the end.

The website of the noble restaurant high above the rooftops of Leipzig is not accessible. It is located on the 27th floor of the Westin Hotel. Its director since 2005, Andreas Hachmeister, announced that it was a "heartbreaking decision to close the restaurant". They had done "everything in our power to keep the restaurant open".

According to the Falco imprint from June 2023, Hachmeister is the "general manager authorized to represent" the Westin-Leipzig Hotelgesellschaft Gerberstraße Betriebs-GmbH. However, there is no entry for this company in the commercial register. Only a company based in Düsseldorf can be found there as the operator of the Leipzig Westin Hotel and thus also of the "Falco".

This company published its financial statements for 2021 in September 2023, according to which the Westin Hotel in Leipzig had incurred a loss of a good 1.4 million euros in that financial year. The operating company is owned by an investment company in Luxembourg. On the group side, the Leipzig hotel belongs to the listed US company Marriot.

Recently archived websites of the "Falco" show that people were still being sought for many positions in the kitchen and service. In addition to the shortage of staff, increased salaries and purchase prices for the ingredients used in the posh menus are said to be the reason for the closure. Most of the "Falco" employees have been offered other jobs in the hotel, it is said.

The trade journal Gourmet-Report quotes Hachmeister as saying that the heart of the restaurant, which opened in 2005, was the kitchen and service team, "who provided unforgettable taste experiences with tireless commitment, creativity and dedication". However, the 54-year-old chef Peter Maria Schnurr, who comes from the Black Forest, is not mentioned at all in the report. On his latest Instagram post from the beginning of October with the comment "#falcolovesyou", Schnur showed himself laughing in his kitchen.

The Gault Millau 2023/24 restaurant guide awarded Falco four out of five possible toques. This is the highest rating for a restaurant in Saxony.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Sachsens bestes Restaurant macht überraschend Schluss

Ohne Vorankündigung ist Sachsens führendes Edelrestaurant "Falco" in Leipzig geschlossen worden. Wie es mit dem Personal und der noblen Adresse weitergeht, ist derzeit unklar.
Lesedauer: 2 Minuten
Man sieht den Leipziger Küchenchef, Peter Maria Schnurr, in der Küche
Der Leipziger Küchenchef Peter Maria Schnurr machte das Restaurant "Falco" in Leipzig zum besten in Sachsen. Nun ist überraschend Schluss. © Archivfoto: dpa/Jan Woitas

Von Ulrich Wolf

Leipzig. Das beste Feinschmeckerrestaurant in Sachsen hat überraschend und kurzfristig geschlossen. Betroffen ist das „Falco“ in Leipzig, dem Restaurantführer Gault Millau 2023/24 zufolge die beste kulinarische Adresse im Freistaat. Zuerst berichteten die Bild-Zeitung und die Leipziger Volkszeitung über das Aus.

Die Webseite des Edellokals hoch über den Dächern von Leipzig ist nicht erreichbar. Es hat seinen Sitz im 27. Stock des Westin-Hotels. Dessen seit 2005 amtierender Direktor Andreas Hachmeister teilte mit, es sei eine „herzzerreißende Entscheidung, das Restaurant zu schließen“. Man habe „alles in unserer Macht Stehende getan, um den Betrieb aufrechtzuerhalten“.

Hachmeister ist dem Falco-Impressum vom Juni 2023 zufolge „vertretungsberechtigter Generaldirektor“ der Westin-Leipzig Hotelgesellschaft Gerberstraße Betriebs-GmbH. Ein Eintrag dieser Firma ist im Handelsregister jedoch nicht zu entdecken. Dort findet sich lediglich eine in Düsseldorf ansässige Firma als Betreiberin des Leipziger Westin-Hotels und damit auch des „Falco“.

Diese Gesellschaft veröffentlichte im September 2023 ihren Abschluss für das Jahr 2021. Demnach war in jenem Geschäftsjahr ein Verlust des Westin-Hotels in Leipzig von gut 1,4 Millionen Euro entstanden. Die Betreiberfirma gehört einer Investmentgesellschaft in Luxemburg. Konzernseitig gehört das Leipziger Hotel zum börsennotierten US-Unternehmen Marriot.

Jüngst archivierte Webseiten des „Falco“ zeigen, dass noch vor Kurzem für viele Positionen in Küche und Service Leute gesucht wurden. Neben dem Personalmangel sollen gestiegene Gehälter und Einkaufspreise für die Zutaten der noblen Menüs Ursache für die Schließung sein. Den meisten Angestellten des „Falco“ würden anderen Stellen im Hotel angeboten, heißt es.

Das Fachblatt Gourmet-Report zitiert Hachmeister mit den Worten, das Herzstück des 2005 eröffneten Restaurants sei das Küchen- und Serviceteam gewesen, „das mit unermüdlichem Einsatz, Kreativität und Hingabe für unvergessliche Geschmackserlebnisse gesorgt hat“. Der aus dem Schwarzwald stammende, 54 Jahre alte Küchenchef Peter Maria Schnurr werde in der Meldung jedoch mit keinem Wort erwähnt, heißt es. Auf seinem jüngsten Instagram-Post von Anfang Oktober mit der Bemerkung „#falcolovesyou“ zeigte sich Schnur lachend in seiner Küche.

Der Restaurantführer Gault Millau 2023/24 gab dem Falco vier von fünf möglichen Kochhauben. Es ist die höchste Bewertung für ein Restaurant in Sachsen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: