Search

Search

Saxon electricity supplier tests whether customers give more money for wind energy

Energy retailers are increasingly offering a choice of different rates again. The utility Envia-M is conducting a trial with 1,000 customers in Saxony.

Reading time: 3 Minutes

Man sieht ein Haus mit Windkrafträdern im Hintergrund.
Who is willing to pay a little more for wind power from Saxony? Envia-M is doing the price test. © Archive photo: Sebastian Schultz

From George Moeritz

Chemnitz. The electricity market is on the move: Since energy prices rose sharply a year and a half ago and some retailers went out of business, most municipal utilities also stopped advertising different rates. New customers generally had to pay the expensive basic supply tariff - often more than 40 cents per kilowatt hour, until the government applied the electricity price brake at this level. But now utilities are courting consumers again. Envia-M based in Chemnitz, Germany, announced a "limited offer" on Wednesday.

The eastern German energy supplier, which has more than 1.3 million customers, plans to introduce a pricing model called "Naturstrom von hier" for around 1,000 households. The company said customers would be able to buy "regional electricity" from renewable energy sources from plants in Saxony. In this case, the electricity comes from three wind power plants in the districts of Central Saxony, Zwickau and the Erzgebirgskreis.

It is not technically possible to send individual portions of electricity from a specific wind turbine to a specific home elsewhere in Saxony. But Envia-M promises customers certificates of origin for the electricity supplied, so that the amount supplied is actually generated by the named turbines. The certificate is supposed to say which wind turbine is the source.

Green electricity is offered with a 50 euro bonus

The company does not specify the price in its press release. However, prices can be called up on the company's website if a town and a quantity are entered. Accordingly, for example, a household in Waldheim with 2,500 kilowatt hours of consumption per year must pay a price of 43.02 cents per kilowatt hour for the "Naturstrom von hier". The basic price per month is also 12.09 euros. A company spokeswoman said on inquiry of sächsische.de, the consumption prices are "very different, depending on where one lives". That also depends on levies and network charges. She could not give a range.

With the contract, the customer commits himself to this electricity tariff for an "initial term" of twelve months. In return, Envia-M offers him a bonus of 50 euros. With a decrease of 2,500 kilowatt hours are to be paid according to data on the Internet side thus at the example forest home 101,71 euro monthly, thereby the bonus is already taken off. That is more than in the tariff "my river best", which has however 24 months contract running time, but somewhat less than the price in the basic supply. There, Envia-M currently charges 43.51 cents per kilowatt hour. Because of the electricity price brake at 40 cents, the state takes over 3.51 cents of this for 80 percent of the electricity volume.

At Price comparisons on the Internet customers should note that a bonus such as the 50 euros from Envia-M only has a one-time effect. They should also compare the term and notice periods - you should not tie yourself down to an expensive electricity tariff for a long time. Basic supply contracts can be terminated with two weeks' notice.

Envia-M announces dynamic tariffs

The Eon Group recently announced that it would be reducing prices for millions of its customers as of September. These customers have already been informed. Envia-M belongs proportionately to the Eon Group, but also to eastern German cities and municipalities. Envia-M has reduced electricity and gas prices in July. But they are still above the state price brakes. Sachsen-Energie in Dresden, with its Drewag and Enso brands, had announced that it would not be lowering its electricity prices for the time being, especially as they are lower than those of its neighboring company Envia-M and are generally below 40 cents per kilowatt hour.

Envia-M is going even further in testing its customers: In addition to the new electricity tariff for wind power enthusiasts, the eastern German company is also already announcing "dynamic tariffs". They are not yet available, but interested parties can register for them on the website. They will then receive "exclusive information" even before the new tariff is bookable.

The dynamic prices under this model are to be based on the exchange price and vary during the day. Customers can then adjust their electricity consumption and, for example, switch on the washing machine when the price is slightly lower. The setting options for such dynamic tariffs The Dresden-based software company Kiwigrid, for example, is working.

In the future, electricity prices will increasingly depend on whether there is a lot of solar and wind power available at any given time or whether expensive gas-fired power plants have to be brought on line as well. This is also likely to become important for owners of electric cars who want to charge their batteries at certain times or even sell the electricity from the battery back to the power grid when they do not need the car for some time.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Sächsischer Stromversorger testet, ob Kunden für Windenergie mehr Geld geben

Energiehändler bieten zunehmend wieder unterschiedliche Tarife zur Auswahl an. Der Versorger Envia-M macht in Sachsen einen Versuch mit 1.000 Kunden.
Lesedauer: 3 Minuten
Man sieht ein Haus mit Windkrafträdern im Hintergrund.
Wer ist bereit, für Windstrom aus Sachsen etwas mehr zu bezahlen? Envia-M macht den Preistest. © Archivbild: Sebastian Schultz

Von Georg Moeritz

Chemnitz. Der Strommarkt kommt in Bewegung: Seit vor anderthalb Jahren die Energiepreise kräftig stiegen und manche Händler das Geschäft aufgaben, warben auch die meisten Stadtwerke nicht mehr mit verschiedenen Tarifen. Neukunden mussten in der Regel den teuren Grundversorgungstarif zahlen – häufig mehr als 40 Cent pro Kilowattstunde, bis der Staat bei diesem Betrag die Strompreisbremse anzog. Doch jetzt umwerben Versorger wieder die Verbraucher. Envia-M mit Sitz in Chemnitz kündigte am Mittwoch ein „limitiertes Angebot“ an.

Der ostdeutsche Energieversorger mit mehr als 1,3 Millionen Kunden will für rund 1.000 Haushalte ein Preismodell namens „Naturstrom von hier“ einführen. Das Unternehmen teilte mit, die Kunden könnten „regionalen Strom“ aus erneuerbaren Energien aus sächsischen Anlagen kaufen. Der Strom komme in diesem Fall von drei Windkraftanlagen aus den Kreisen Mittelsachsen, Zwickau und dem Erzgebirgskreis.

Es ist zwar technisch nicht möglich, einzelne Stromportionen aus einem bestimmten Windrad einer bestimmten Wohnung anderswo in Sachsen zukommen zu lassen. Aber Envia-M verspricht den Kunden Herkunftsnachweise für den gelieferten Strom, sodass die gelieferte Menge tatsächlich mit den genannten Anlagen erzeugt wird. Auf der Urkunde soll stehen, welche Windkraftanlage die Quelle ist.

Öko-Strom wird mit 50 Euro Bonus angeboten

Zum Preis macht das Unternehmen in seiner Pressemitteilung zwar keine Angaben. Doch auf der Internetseite der Firma lassen sich Preise abrufen, wenn ein Ort und eine Menge eingegeben werden. Demnach muss beispielsweise ein Haushalt in Waldheim mit 2.500 Kilowattstunden Verbrauch pro Jahr für den „Naturstrom von hier“ einen Preis von 43,02 Cent pro Kilowattstunde bezahlen. Der Grundpreis pro Monat beträgt zudem 12,09 Euro. Eine Firmensprecherin sagte auf Nachfrage von sächsische.de, die Verbrauchspreise seien „sehr unterschiedlich, je nachdem, wo man wohnt“. Das hänge auch von Abgaben und Netzentgelten ab. Eine Spanne könne sie nicht angeben.

Mit dem Vertrag bindet sich der Kunde für eine „Erstlaufzeit“ von zwölf Monaten an diesen Stromtarif. Dafür bietet ihm Envia-M 50 Euro Bonus. Bei einer Abnahme von 2.500 Kilowattstunden sind nach Angaben auf der Internetseite demnach am Beispiel Waldheim 101,71 Euro monatlich zu zahlen, dabei ist der Bonus schon abgezogen. Das ist mehr als im Tarif „Mein Strom best“, der allerdings 24 Monate Vertragslaufzeit hat, aber etwas weniger als der Preis in der Grundversorgung. Dort verlangt Envia-M derzeit 43,51 Cent pro Kilowattstunde. Wegen der Strompreisbremse bei 40 Cent übernimmt der Staat davon 3,51 Cent für 80 Prozent der Strommenge.

Bei Preisvergleichen im Internet sollten Kunden beachten, dass sich ein Bonus wie etwa die 50 Euro von Envia-M nur einmalig auswirkt. Außerdem sollten sie die Laufzeit und die Kündigungsfristen vergleichen – an einen teuren Stromtarif sollte man sich nicht lange binden. Die Verträge für die Grundversorgung können mit zwei Wochen Frist gekündigt werden.

Envia-M kündigt dynamische Tarife an

Der Eon-Konzern hat kürzlich angekündigt, zum September für Millionen seiner Kunden die Preise zu senken. Diese Kunden seien bereits informiert worden. Envia-M gehört anteilig zum Eon-Konzern, aber auch ostdeutschen Städten und Gemeinden. Envia-M hat zum Juli Strom- und Gaspreise gesenkt. Sie liegen aber immer noch über den staatlichen Preisbremsen. Die Sachsen-Energie in Dresden mit den Marken Drewag und Enso hatte angekündigt, ihre Strompreise zunächst nicht zu senken, zumal sie niedriger als beim Nachbarkonzern Envia-M sind und in der Regel unter 40 Cent pro Kilowattstunde liegen.

Envia-M geht beim Testen seiner Kunden noch weiter: Außer dem neuen Stromtarif für Windkraft-Freunde kündigt der ostdeutsche Konzern auch schon „dynamische Tarife“ an. Noch sind sie nicht verfügbar, aber Interessenten können sich über die Internetseite dafür vormerken lassen. Sie sollen dann „exklusive Informationen“ erhalten, noch bevor der neue Tarif buchbar ist.

Die dynamischen Preise nach diesem Modell sollen sich am Börsenpreis orientieren und während eines Tages unterschiedlich sein. Kunden können dann ihren Stromverbrauch anpassen und zum Beispiel die Waschmaschine dann einschalten, wenn der Preis etwas niedriger ist. An den Einstellmöglichkeiten für solche dynamischen Tarife arbeitet beispielsweise das Dresdner Software-Unternehmen Kiwigrid.

Die Strompreise werden künftig zunehmend davon abhängen, ob gerade viel Sonnen- und Windstrom verfügbar ist oder ob teure Gaskraftwerke zusätzlich in Betrieb genommen werden müssen. Das dürfte auch für Besitzer von Elektroautos wichtig werden, die ihre Akkus zu bestimmten Zeiten aufladen oder gar den Strom aus dem Akku ins Stromnetz zurückverkaufen wollen, wenn sie den Wagen einige Zeit nicht brauchen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: