Search

Search

Rewe may take over 15 Real stores - Heidenau not included

In the insolvency of Real, there is now a certain perspective for 15 stores, but not for Heidenau. Is that good news or bad news?

Reading time: 2 Minutes

Einkaufswagen der Kette "Mein Real"
The shopping carts have stayed, whether Real or "My Real": which ones will come to Heidenau? © Daniel Schäfer

From Heike Sabel

There is hope in insolvency for 15 "Mein Real" stores across Germany. They may benefit from Rewe be taken over. This was decided by the German Federal Cartel Office. Whether this actually happens depends on several factors, including Rewe's agreement with the respective landlords.

The 15 locations are part of the remaining approximately 60 "Mein Real" locations of the Real Ltdwhich is controlled by the investment company SCP. Due to economic difficulties, Real GmbH has been in insolvency proceedings in self-administration since the end of September.

There are other Rewe plans for Heidenau

The Heidenau store is one of the 60 or so locations, but it does not appear in the current Rewe list, even though the Heidenau Real is also already supplied by Rewe. This is viewed differently by customers, but has no impact on the recent decisions. The Cartel Office cannot say why Heidenau is not included because it only examines applications. Real itself still does not comment.

It seems logical, however, that Rewe is not interested in the Real store in Heidenau. After all, they have other big plans here. In the already purchased building of former Möbel Bastian on the S172, they want to set up a large market. The city of Heidenau doubts whether this will really happen and is also against it because of the difficult traffic development, but there is still no official Rewe communication saying the opposite.

Real insolvency: New chance for Globus in Heidenau?

The absence of Heidenau from the Rewe takeover list could increase the chances for Globus again. The large retailer has already had clearance from the German Federal Cartel Office for all the locations it wanted since the end of 2020. The fact that the takeover did not happen in Heidenau shows the importance of an antitrust decision. You can't merge or take over if the decision is no, but you don't have to if the decision is yes. In Heidenau, landlords and Globus, among others, did not reach an agreement. Would that be different now?

If Rewe doesn't want to, Globus doesn't get a chance, what would that mean for Heidenau? The closure? Of all the options, that's the worst. Mayor Jürgen Opitz (CDU) made that clear from the start. The city of Heidenau is still fighting for the location and especially for Globus. But for the time being, the anxiety continues for Heidenau Real, for customers and employees, but also for the city. Heidenau's city hall wants to wait and see.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Suche

Rewe darf 15 Real-Märkte übernehmen – Heidenau nicht dabei

In der Insolvenz von Real gibt es jetzt für 15 Märkte eine bestimmte Perspektive, nicht jedoch für Heidenau. Ist das eine gute oder eine schlechte Nachricht?

Lesedauer: 2 Minuten

Einkaufswagen der Kette "Mein Real"
Die Einkaufswagen sind geblieben, egal ob Real oder "Mein Real": Welche werden in Heidenau kommen? © Daniel Schäfer

Von Heike Sabel

Für deutschlandweit 15 „Mein Real“-Standorte gibt es Hoffnung in der Insolvenz. Sie dürfen von Rewe übernommen werden. Das hat das Bundeskartellamt entschieden. Ob es tatsächlich so passiert, ist von mehreren Faktoren abhängig, unter anderem der Einigung von Rewe mit den jeweiligen Vermietern.

Die 15 Standorte sind Teil der verbliebenen rund 60 „Mein Real“-Standorte der Real GmbH, die von der Investmentgesellschaft SCP kontrolliert wird. Die Real GmbH befindet sich aufgrund wirtschaftlicher Schwierigkeiten seit Ende September in einem Insolvenzverfahren in Eigenverwaltung.

Es gibt andere Rewe-Pläne für Heidenau

Zu den rund 60 Standorten gehört auch der Heidenauer Markt, der jedoch in der aktuellen Rewe-Liste nicht auftaucht, obwohl der Heidenauer Real ebenfalls bereits von Rewe beliefert wird. Das wird von Kunden unterschiedlich bewertet, hat aber keine Auswirkungen auf die neuerlichen Entscheidungen. Warum Heidenau nicht dabei ist, kann das Kartellamt nicht sagen, weil es nur Anträge prüft. Real selbst äußert sich nach wie vor nicht.

Dass Rewe für den Heidenauer Real-Markt kein Interesse hat, scheint indes logisch. Schließlich hat man hier andere große Pläne. Im bereits gekauften Gebäude von ehemals Möbel Bastian an der S172 will man einen großen Markt einrichten. Die Stadt Heidenau zweifelt zwar, ob das wirklich so kommt und ist auch wegen der schwierigen verkehrlichen Erschließung dagegen, doch noch gibt es keine offizielle Rewe-Mitteilung, die das Gegenteil sagt.

Real-Insolvenz: Neue Chance für Globus in Heidenau?

Das Fehlen von Heidenau auf der Rewe-Übernahmeliste könnte die Chancen für Globus wieder erhöhen. Der große Einzelhändler hat schon seit Ende 2020 die Freigabe durch das Bundeskartellamt für alle Standorte, die man wollte. Dass es in Heidenau nicht zur Übernahme kam, zeigt, welche Bedeutung eine Kartellentscheidung hat. Man darf zwar nicht bei einem Nein, muss aber auch nicht bei einem Ja fusionieren oder übernehmen. In Heidenau waren damals eben auch unter anderem Vermieter und Globus nicht einig geworden. Ob das jetzt anders wäre?

Wenn Rewe nicht will, Globus nicht zum Zuge kommt, was würde das für Heidenau bedeuten? Die Schließung? Das ist unter allen Optionen die schlechteste. Das hat Bürgermeister Jürgen Opitz (CDU) von Anfang an klargemacht. Die Stadt Heidenau kämpft nach wie vor um den Standort und insbesondere für Globus. Doch vorerst gehen für den Heidenauer Real, für Kunden und Mitarbeiter, aber auch für die Stadt das Bangen weiter. Im Heidenauer Rathaus will man erstmal abwarten.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: