Search

Search

Saxony's DGB gives state government a school grade of 4

The trade union federation has drawn up its touchstones for the state elections: more factual politics instead of populism, according to one demand.

Reading time: 2 Minutes

Man sieht Markus Schlimbach, Landesvorsitzender des DGB in Sachsen.
Markus Schlimbach, pictured here on January 5 at a strike rally at SRW Metalfloat, a metal recycler in Espenhain, has been state chairman of the DGB in Saxony since the end of 2017. © Anja Jungnickel

By Michael Rothe

Dresden. "Security in transition - choose solutions!" That is the message of the DGB Saxony for the state elections in the fall. On Wednesday, the trade union federation presented its touchstones for politics, including some unfulfilled ones from 2019.

There is rumbling in the country, says DGB state head Markus Schlimbach, accompanied by the honking of farmers' horns on Dresden's streets. He talks about the many strikes and wage disputes that are still smouldering. The trade unionist calls the main demand "good work in the Free State" with equally good pay. "We need stronger safety nets in the world of work": collective agreements that regulate wages, working hours and vacations, says Schlimbach. In Saxony, only every 6th company is bound by collective agreements.

The Free State could promote this with a procurement law. However, Saxony's trade union boss is "only conditionally optimistic" that the amendment set out in the coalition agreement will be implemented. "If not, the question arises as to whether the CDU can be faithful to the agreement at all," says Schlimbach.

His deputy Daniela Kolbe advocates an election campaign with factual politics instead of populism. She names further points on which the DGB wants to measure the parties: joint shaping of transformation, energy and mobility transition, legal entitlement to five days of education, public services, including in rural areas - and co-determination.

"Progress must be bitterly fought for in Saxony"

Where there are works councils, employees are more inclined towards democracy than where decisions are made over their heads, she says and calls for a transformation advisory board made up of trade unions, social partners and ministries on the climate crisis, globalization and digitalization. There should be a sense that there is a plan. "It's still just a matter of taking baby steps, every step forward in Saxony has to be fought for bitterly."

Saxony's debt brake is a brake on investment, complains Schlimbach. The government looks to Berlin and Brussels, but is itself blank when it comes to investing in the future. Reforming the brake is the task of the next government. Schlimbach told SZ that the DGB does not recommend voting as it did years ago.

His look back is sobering: only a fraction of the ten DGB demands from the last election have been met. The standstill during the pandemic hardly provides any mitigating circumstances. "That's why I give the government an overall grade of 4," he says. For many, that borders on "at risk of transfer".

This might also interest you:

Suche

Sachsens DGB gibt Landesregierung die Schulnote 4

Der Gewerkschaftsbund hat seine Prüfsteine für die Landtagswahl aufgestellt: mehr Sachpolitik statt Populismus, so eine Forderung.
Lesedauer: 2 Minuten
Man sieht Markus Schlimbach, Landesvorsitzender des DGB in Sachsen.
Markus Schlimbach, hier am 5. Januar bei einer Streikkundgebung von SRW Metalfloat, einem Metall-Recycler in Espenhain, ist seit Ende 2017 Landesvorsitzender des DGB in Sachsen. © Anja Jungnickel

Von Michael Rothe

Dresden. „Sicherheit im Wandel – Lösungen wählen!.“ Das ist die Botschaft des DGB Sachsen zur Landtagswahl im Herbst. Der Gewerkschaftsbund hat am Mittwoch seine Prüfsteine für die Politik vorgestellt, manche Unerfüllte von 2019 auch erneut.

Es rumore im Land, sagt DGB-Landeschef Markus Schlimbach, begleitet vom Hupkonzert der Bauern auf Dresdens Straßen. Er spricht von vielen Streiks und Tarifkonflikten, die noch immer schwelten. Es gehe um „gute Arbeit im Freistaat“ mit ebensolcher Bezahlung, nennt der Gewerkschafter die Hauptforderung. „Es braucht stärkere Sicherheitsnetze in der Arbeitswelt“: Tarifverträge, die Löhne, Arbeitszeit, Urlaub regeln, so Schlimbach. In Sachsen sei nur jeder 6. Betrieb tarifgebunden.

Das könnte der Freistaat mit einem Vergabegesetz befördern. Aber Sachsens Gewerkschaftschef ist „nur noch bedingt optimistisch“, dass die im Koalitionsvertrag fixierte Novelle auch kommt. „Wenn nicht, stellt sich die Frage, ob die CDU überhaupt vertragstreu sein kann“, sagt Schlimbach.

Seine Stellvertreterin Daniela Kolbe plädiert für einen Wahlkampf mit Sachpolitik statt Populismus. Sie nennt weitere Punkte, an denen der DGB die Parteien messen will: gemeinsame Gestaltung von Transformation, Energie- und Mobilitätswende, Rechtsanspruch auf fünf Tage Bildungszeit, öffentliche Daseinsvorsorge auch auf dem Land – und Mitbestimmung.

„Fortschritt muss in Sachsen bitter erkämpft werden“

Wo es Betriebsräte gebe, seien Beschäftigte der Demokratie zugewandter als dort, wo über ihre Köpfe entschieden werde, sagt sie und plädiert für einen Transformationsbeirat aus Gewerkschaften, Sozialpartnern, Ministerien zu Klimakrise, Globalisierung, Digitalisierung. Man solle spüren: Es gibt einen Plan. „Noch sind es Tippeltappel-Schritte, muss jeder Fortschritt in Sachsen bitter erkämpft werden.“

Sachsens Schuldenbremse sei eine Investitionsbremse, moniert Schlimbach. Die Regierung schaue nach Berlin und Brüssel, sei selbst aber blank, wenn es um Zukunftsinvestitionen gehe. Die Reform der Bremse sei Aufgabe der nächsten Regierung. Eine Wahlempfehlung wie noch vor Jahren gebe der DGB nicht, sagt Schlimbach zur SZ.

Sein Blick zurück ist ernüchternd: Von den zehn DGB-Forderungen zur letzten Wahl ist nur ein Bruchteil erfüllt. Der Stillstand in der Pandemie bringt kaum mildernde Umstände. „Deshalb gebe ich der Regierung die Gesamtnote 4“, sagt er. Das grenzt für viele an „Versetzungsgefährdet“.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: