Search

What Saxony's pharmacy of the future will look like

Pharmacist Cordula Grüber has been working on it for five years and is now investing 3.9 million euros. What makes the new building of her Sonnen-Apotheke pharmacy in Bischofswerda so special.
Reading time: 3 Minutes
Das Bild zeigt den geplanten Neubau einer Apotheke.
This is what the new Sonnen-Apotheke pharmacy in Bischofswerda will look like. © Engineering office bauplanconcept

From Miriam Schönbach

Bischofswerda. Her father proudly calls her "Pfundskerl". Antonius Grüber stands on the lawn in front of the hospital in Bischofswerda. He is holding a planted boat in his hands. Numerous guests have come to the handover of the funding decision for the new construction of the Sun Pharmacy his daughter Cordula Grüber. The entrepreneur is investing 3.9 million euros in her vision for the future. The Free State of Saxony is supporting the project with 1.5 million euros from the "Regional Growth" program.

It is a very personal moment between many official speeches. "We wish you that you can guide a ship like this, called Apotheke, safely through all the waves - and that it continues to sail the seas without any major obstacles in the future," says the 82-year-old, before leaving the stage to the others. But the praise is encouraging, it is caresses for the soul after the many ups and downs of the project.

Cordula Grüberaus knows all about obstacles. The first ideas on paper by the engineering firm bauplanconcept from Neukirch/Lausitz for what is probably one of the most modern pharmacies in Saxony date back more than five years. The Bischofswerda pharmacist is all the happier on this Tuesday afternoon: "The new Sonnen-Apotheke is being built here on around 700 square meters, an energy self-sufficient building using photovoltaics and geothermal energy. We are thus improving the Services of general interest for the residents of Bischofswerder Land with extended accessibility."

Energy supply largely self-sufficient in future

But the new building should be able to do even more. "We are responding to the demographic change that is particularly noticeable in our region in order to meet the additional pharmaceutical needs of our ageing population," says the pharmacist. Her thesis is supported by the population forecast of the Free State of Saxony from the previous year: Accordingly, the population in the district of Bautzen will not only decline, but also grow older. There are currently around 84,200 people living here who are at least 65 years old. By 2040, there will be around 4,200 more.

Cordula Grüber knows the statistics. In the search for funding for her project, she and her supporters have knocked on numerous doors of funding providers. One person who has always believed in the "captain" is CDU member of state parliament Patricia Wissel: "Once this project has been completed - and certainly not for a few years - we will really realize what she has achieved here," says the politician.

The Free State is happy to support such foresight, adds Saxony's Minister of Economic Affairs Martin Dulig (SPD): "Thanks to the EU funds, our 'Regional Growth' program specifically strengthens Saxony's SMEs. This instrument is particularly effective for local companies during structural change." In his view, it is important for the state that there are medium-sized companies like Sonnen-Apotheke "that say: We are regionally anchored, we choose this region."

Space for more than 20,000 medicines

Architect Oliver Thomas has been familiar with the project from day one. "We see the pharmacy as an addition to the existing medical center on Kamenzer Straße in Bischofswerda. We have the ambulance station and the hospital here, among other things," he says, explaining the choice of location. Incidentally, the search began with measuring the solar radiation on the site. This is important if solar energy coupled with geothermal energy is to provide electricity and heat in the Sonnen-Apotheke.

A photovoltaic system will be installed on the roof. By installing large battery storage units and an emergency power generator, the pharmacy of the future will also be able to operate in the event of a power failure. Electric charging stations will be installed for the delivery vehicles. Inside, there will be sufficient space on two floors for modern workstations, storage capacity and an automated warehouse for more than 20,000 medicines. It will transport the medicines via conveyor belts to up to eight dispensing points to ensure an effective process.

"The better standard of the building in future will preserve jobs and improve working conditions for employees," says Cordula Grüber - and is delighted that the plans on paper are becoming reality - by the way 30 years after the founding of her Sonnen-Apotheke in Bischofswerda.

Currently still for rent in the medical center

The pharmacist and her 26 employees are currently based in a medical center near the hospital. In addition to supplying pharmaceutical products and services, the pharmacy's unique selling point is its comprehensive incontinence care on prescription. With a small team led by a nurse, she currently provides care for 600 incontinence patients.

The search for construction companies is now beginning for the engineering firm bauplanconcept from Neukirch/Lausitz. "However, we are very optimistic that we will receive suitable offers," says Oliver Thomas. The ground-breaking ceremony is currently planned for mid-June 2024. The building is scheduled for completion in December 2025. It will be a day when Antonius Grüber might say "Pfundskerl" to his daughter again.

This might also interest you:

Suche

So sieht Sachsens Apotheke der Zukunft aus

Fünf Jahre hat Pharmazeutin Cordula Grüber daran getüftelt, nun investiert sie 3,9 Millionen Euro. Was den Neubau ihrer Sonnen-Apotheke in Bischofswerda so besonders macht.
Lesedauer: 3 Minuten
Das Bild zeigt den geplanten Neubau einer Apotheke.
So soll der Neubau der Sonnen-Apotheke in Bischofswerda aussehen. © Ingenieurbüro bauplanconcept

Von Miriam Schönbach

Bischofswerda. Ihr Vater nennt sie stolz: „Pfundskerl“. Antonius Grüber steht auf der Wiese vor dem Krankenhaus in Bischofswerda. In den Händen hält er ein bepflanztes Boot. Zahlreiche Gäste sind zur Übergabe des Fördermittelbescheids für den Neubau der Sonnen-Apotheke seiner Tochter Cordula Grüber gekommen. Die Unternehmerin nimmt für ihre Zukunftsvision 3,9 Millionen Euro in die Hand. Der Freistaat Sachsen unterstützt das Projekt mit 1,5 Millionen Euro aus dem Programm „Regionales Wachstum“.

Es ist ein ganz persönlicher Moment zwischen vielen offiziellen Reden. „Wir wünschen Dir, dass Du so ein Schiff, welches Apotheke heißt, sicher durch alle Wellen führen kannst – und für die Zukunft, dass es weiterhin die Meere ohne große Hindernisse durchquert“, sagt der 82-Jährige und überlässt die Bühne dann den anderen. Das Lob aber spornt an, es sind Streicheleinheiten für die Seele nach dem vielen Auf und Ab für das Projekt.

Mit Hindernissen kennt sich Cordula Grüberaus. Mehr als fünf Jahre reichen die ersten Ideen auf dem Papier durch das Ingenieurbüro bauplanconcept aus Neukirch/Lausitz für wohl eine der modernsten Apotheken in Sachsen zurück. Um so glücklicher sagt die Bischofswerdaer Apothekerin an diesem Dienstagnachmittag: „Hier entsteht auf rund 700 Quadratmetern die neue Sonnen-Apotheke, ein energetisch weitgehend autarkes Gebäude unter Nutzung von Fotovoltaik und Erdwärme. Wir verbessern damit die Daseinsvorsorge für die Einwohner im Bischofswerder Land mit einer erweiterten Barrierefreiheit.“

Energieversorgung künftig weitgehend autark

Doch der Neubau soll noch mehr können. „Wir gehen auf den in unserer Region besonders spürbaren demografischen Wandel ein, um auch den pharmazeutischen Mehrbedarf unserer älterwerdenden Bevölkerung zu decken“, sagt die Pharmazeutin. Ihre These wird durch die Bevölkerungsprognose des Freistaates Sachsen aus dem Vorjahr gedeckt: Demnach wird die Bevölkerung im Landkreis Bautzen nicht nur zurückgehen, sondern auch älter. Im Moment leben hier rund 84.200 Menschen, die mindestens 65 Jahre alt sind. 2040 werden es rund 4.200 mehr sein.

Die Statistik kennt Cordula Grüber. Auf der Suche nach einer Finanzierung für ihr Projekt haben sie und ihre Unterstützer an zahlreiche Türen von Fördermittelgebern geklopft. Eine, die immer an die „Kapitänin“ geglaubt hat, ist die CDU-Landtagsabgeordnete Patricia Wissel: „Nach Fertigstellung dieses Projekts – und sicher erst in einigen Jahren – wird uns wohl richtig bewusstwerden, was ihr hier gelungen ist“, sagt die Politikerin.

Solche Weitsicht unterstützt der Freistaat gern, ergänzt Sachsens Wirtschaftsminister Martin Dulig (SPD): „Dank der EU-Mittel stärkt unser Programm ,Regionales Wachstum‘ den sächsischen Mittelstand ganz gezielt. Gerade im Strukturwandel wirkt dieses Instrument bei den Unternehmen vor Ort.“ Aus seiner Sicht sei es wichtig für das Land, dass es mittelständische Unternehmen wie die Sonnen-Apotheke gibt, „die sagen: Wir sind regional verankert, wir entscheiden uns für diese Region.“

Platz für mehr als 20.000 Arzneimittel

Bestens kennt das Projekt vom Tag eins an Architekt Oliver Thomas. „Wir sehen die Apotheke als Ergänzung dieses bereits bestehenden medizinischen Zentrums in der Kamenzer Straße in Bischofswerda. Wir haben hier unter anderem die Rettungswache und das Krankenhaus“, begründet er die Standort-Auswahl. Begonnen hat die Suche übrigens mit der Messung der Sonneneinstrahlung auf dem Areal. Das ist wichtig, wenn Sonnenenergie gekoppelt mit Erdwärme in der Sonnen-Apotheke für Strom und Wärme sorgen soll.

So wird auf dem Dach eine Fotovoltaikanlage installiert. Durch den Einbau von großen Batteriespeichern und einem Notstromaggregat wird die Apotheke der Zukunft auch bei einem Netzausfall arbeitsfähig sein. Für die Lieferfahrzeuge werden Elektroladestationen errichtet. Im Inneren sollen auf zwei Etagen ausreichend Flächen für moderne Arbeitsplätze, Lagerkapazitäten und einen Warenlagerautomaten für mehr als 20.000 Arzneimittel entstehen. Er soll die Arzneimittel über Bänder an bis zu acht Ausgabestellen befördern, um einen effektiven Ablauf zu gewährleisten.

„Durch den künftig besseren Gebäudestandard werden die Arbeitsplätze erhalten und die Arbeitsbedingungen der Beschäftigten verbessert“, sagt Cordula Grüber – und freut sich, dass die Pläne vom Papier Realität werden – übrigens 30 Jahre nach der Gründung ihrer Sonnen-Apotheke in Bischofswerda.

Derzeit noch zur Miete im Ärztehaus

Aktuell sind die Pharmazeutin und ihre 26 Beschäftigten in einem Ärztehaus in Krankenhaus-Nähe eingemietet. Neben der Versorgung mit pharmazeutischen Produkten und Dienstleistungen gehört eine umfangreiche Inkontinenzversorgung auf Rezept zum Alleinstellungsmerkmal dieser Apotheke. Sie versorgt derzeit mit einem kleinen Team unter Leitung einer Krankenschwester 600 Inkontinenz-Patienten.

Für das Ingenieurbüro bauplanconcept aus Neukirch/Lausitz beginnt jetzt die Suche nach Baufirmen. „Wir sind aber ganz optimistisch, dass wir entsprechende Angebote bekommen“, sagt Oliver Thomas. Aktuell ist der erste Spatenstich für Mitte Juni 2024 geplant. Die Fertigstellung des Gebäudes ist für Dezember 2025 vorgesehen. Es wird ein Tag, an dem Antonius Grüber zu seiner Tochter vielleicht wieder „Pfundskerl“ sagt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: