Search

What is the future for industry in eastern Germany?

Why is eastern industry still lagging behind western industry more than 30 years after reunification, and what are its prospects? An IG Metall conference in Chemnitz provides answers.
Reading time: 4 Minutes
Luftbild des VW-Werks in Zwickau-Mosel
Highly productive addresses like the VW carmaker in Zwickau-Mosel (center) are rarer in the east than in the west. © euroluftbild.de/bernd clemens

By Michael Rothe

It was a big announcement by German Economics Minister Robert Habeck: 2023 was to be "the year of industrial policy," the Green politician said nine months ago. The first priority is to secure the location and "to create a framework that enables industry to produce here," Habeck said, while criticizing a "desire to conjure up a doom and gloom.

But is the policy living up to its claim? What are the prospects for industry, especially in the east? And what role do regional transformation networks and co-determination play in this? Such questions were discussed on Tuesday at a meeting of the IG Metall in Chemnitz discussed.

Economic power at barely 87 percent of the West

Eastern Germany is still considered a structurally weak region - especially because the economic strength per employee 32 years after reunification is still barely 87 percent of the level in the West, states economist Joachim Ragnitz. At least Brandenburg and Saxony-Anhalt have overtaken Saarland as the weakest western federal state - in contrast to Saxony, says the deputy head of the Ifo Institute in Dresden.

© SZ-Graphics: Gernot Grunwald

Despite the structural weakness, a specific eastern German regional and industrial policy is losing its justification, Ragnitz is 'convinced. Compared with 2015, the eastern economy has grown by almost twelve percent in price-adjusted terms, while in the west it has only grown by a good seven percent. In industry, gross value added has even increased by 18 percent, almost twice as much as in the west.

The main reason for the 30 percent lower industrial productivity in the east: The companies are much smaller than in the west, with an average of 96 to 145 employees. Highly productive chemical industries and carmakers are less common, but less productive food processing and metalworking are more common - and as an extended workbench of western addresses. "You might regret that, but that's the result of the transformation history since 1990, when the first priority was to create employment opportunities but little emphasis was placed on the quality of jobs," Ragnitz says. "Complaining about it doesn't help, because it's no more conceivable today that large corporations could ever relocate headquarters to eastern Germany than it was then."

Entrepreneurs lack capital and the will to grow

According to the expert, there is not only a lack of capital, but also a lack of the entrepreneurs' unconditional will to grow. And: Eastern companies tend to rely on lower prices rather than innovative products, which means lower added value. According to Ragnitz, the stronger growth in the East is also due to special effects from new settlements such as the Car manufacturer Tesla in Brandenburg and of the Solar cell manufacturer Meyer-Burger in Thalheim. The consequences for employment were small, he said; even 10,000 people at Tesla accounted for only 0.9 percent of all employees in Brandenburg.

According to Ragnitz, Germany as a whole is losing its appeal: high energy and labor costs, long approval procedures, poor transport infrastructure. Politicians are getting bogged down in side wars instead of "ensuring the foundations of our prosperity - a strong industry," he complains.

Investments in transport infrastructure and digital technology, education and the immigration of skilled workers are the original tasks of the federal states. "The bad habit that the eastern German states in particular always call first for federal aid" distracts from the responsibility that has been clarified in the Basic Law.

Lack of personnel is the biggest disadvantage of the East

The heavy subsidies for Tesla, Intel and TSMC no longer have anything to do with regional economic development, but with the fact that they wanted to attract them to Germany for political reasons. Ultimately, the politicians have maneuvered themselves into a trap from which there is no escape. However, it is important to "focus more on the quality of the jobs" when providing support. He said that it was more important to strengthen the innovative strength of industrial companies than to promote investment. Instead of funding programs for research and development, technology policy, especially at the state level, should rather facilitate the participation of companies in technological progress generated elsewhere - also via universities and institutes as intermediaries.

For Ragnitz, the biggest disadvantage of the east is the growing staff shortage of ten to 15 percent on average. Since immigrants are not welcome there and low wages are not a lure, automation and digitization must be used to save labor, he says. He is against keeping companies with obsolete business models alive with state aid.

IG Metall: Tax money is not available at zero cost

Carsten Schneider (SPD), the German government's representative for the East, defends the billions in subsidies for the Intel and TSMC chip plants "at a comparable level to the USA with its Inflation Reduction Act". The Minister of State is "nevertheless confident, despite all the problems in the East." Nowhere is there such a high level of foreign direct investment as in Magdeburg and Dresden. Eastern Germany is thus becoming the "heart of the semiconductor industry in the whole of Europe". The goal is to create and maintain good jobs in future-oriented industries.

In view of a "transformation exhaustion" in the new federal states, it is important to "take the people with us," says Wolfgang Lemb. In addition to opportunities, the IG Metall board member also sees risks such as the loss of tradition, as at Waggonbau Niesky, and wrong strategic decisions, as at Eickhoff in Klipphausen near Dresden, a manufacturer of wind power gearboxes. At both addresses, the lights are going out. "Support from taxpayers' money is not available at zero cost, but only in return for collective bargaining agreements, co-determination, location commitments and investment in the green transformation," emphasizes the trade unionist.

"Especially in conflict and crisis situations, works councils make a decisive contribution to the workforce through successful cooperation with the employer," quotes Uwe Jahn, head of the works council at the Forging works GröditzSaxony's Minister President Michael Kretschmer (CDU). The rights of works councils therefore need to be expanded: Co-determination also in economic matters and future issues, Jahn calls for a reform of the Works Constitution Act, including contemporary remuneration of works councils.

East remains a structurally weak region for a long time to come

In Jahn's view, the biggest challenges include the shortage of skilled workers and the availability of affordable electricity, natural gas and hydrogen. "The time is ripe for an industrial electricity price of five cents per kilowatt hour," says the representative of the energy-intensive forging plants with around 700 employees and annual sales of 240 million euros. And he is also thinking of the chemical plants, machinery and plant manufacturers, foundries and the three electric steel mills in the Dresden area.

Economic researcher Ragnitz warns against illusions. The east, he says, has structural deficits that cannot be remedied by politics in the short or medium term. Experience in the West showed that most regions that were considered structurally weak in the 1970s are still in need of support, despite intervention. "It can therefore be assumed that eastern Germany will remain a structurally weak region for a long time to come - despite individual islands of industrial prosperity," he predicted.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Welche Zukunft hat die Industrie in Ostdeutschland?

Warum hinkt die Ost-Industrie dem Westen auch über 30 Jahre nach der Einheit hinterher, und welche Perspektiven hat sie? Eine IG-Metall-Tagung in Chemnitz gibt Antworten.
Lesedauer: 4 Minuten
Luftbild des VW-Werks in Zwickau-Mosel
Hochproduktive Adressen wie der Autobauer VW in Zwickau-Mosel (M.) sind im Osten seltener als im Westen. © euroluftbild.de/bernd clemens

Von Michael Rothe

Es war eine große Ankündigung von Bundeswirtschaftsminister Robert Habeck: 2023 solle „das Jahr der Industriepolitik“ werden, so der Grünen-Politiker vor neun Monaten. Dabei gehe es zuerst um Standortsicherung und „um Rahmenbedingungen, die es der Industrie ermöglichen, hier zu produzieren“, sagte Habeck und kritisierte zugleich eine „Lust am Herbeireden eines Untergangs“.

Doch wird die Politik ihrem Anspruch gerecht? Welche Perspektiven hat die Industrie speziell im Osten? Und welche Rolle spielen dabei regionale Transformationsnetzwerke und betriebliche Mitbestimmung? Solche Fragen wurden am Dienstag bei einer Tagung der IG Metall in Chemnitz diskutiert.

Wirtschaftskraft bei kaum 87 Prozent des Westens

Ostdeutschland gelte immer noch als strukturschwache Region – vor allem, weil die Wirtschaftskraft je Erwerbstätigen 32 Jahre nach der Wende weiter bei kaum 87 Prozent des Westniveaus liege, konstatiert der Wirtschaftswissenschaftler Joachim Ragnitz. Immerhin hätten Brandenburg und Sachsen-Anhalt das Saarland als schwächstes West-Bundesland überholt – im Gegensatz zu Sachsen, sagt der stellvertretende Chef des Ifo-Instituts in Dresden.

©  SZ-Grafik: Gernot Grunwald

Trotz der Strukturschwäche verliere eine spezifische ostdeutsche Regional- und Industriepolitik ihre Rechtfertigung, ist Ragnitz ´überzeugt. Gegenüber 2015 sei die Ost-Wirtschaft preisbereinigt um fast zwölf Prozent gewachsen, im Westen nur gut sieben Prozent. In der Industrie habe die Bruttowertschöpfung gar um 18 Prozent zugelegt, fast doppelt so stark wie im Westen.

Der Hauptgrund für die um 30 Prozent geringere industrielle Produktivität im Osten: Die Betriebe sind mit im Schnitt 96 zu 145 Beschäftigten viel kleiner als im Westen. Hochproduktive Chemieindustrie und Autobauer gebe es seltener, weniger produktives Nahrungsmittelgewerbe und Metallbearbeitung aber häufiger – und als verlängerte Werkbank von West-Adressen. „Man mag das bedauern, aber das ist Ergebnis der Transformationshistorie seit 1990, als es zuerst darum ging, Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten zu schaffen, aber wenig Wert auf die Qualität der Arbeitsplätze gelegt wurde“, sagt Ragnitz. „Sich darüber zu beklagen, hilft nicht weiter, denn dass Großkonzerne den Sitz je nach Ostdeutschland verlegen könnten, ist heute ebenso wenig denkbar, wie es das damals war.“

Unternehmern fehlt Kapital und der Wachstumswille

Nach Ansicht des Experten mangelt es nicht nur an Kapital, sondern auch am unbedingten Wachstumswillen der Unternehmer. Und: Ost-Firmen setzten eher auf niedrigere Preise als auf innovative Produkte, was geringere Wertschöpfung bedeute. Laut Ragnitz ist das stärkere Ost-Wachstum auch auf Sondereffekte durch Neuansiedlungen wie des Autobauers Tesla in Brandenburg und des Solarzellenfertigers Meyer-Burger in Thalheim zurückzuführen. Die Folgen für die Beschäftigung seien gering, selbst 10.000 Leute bei Tesla machten nur 0,9 Prozent aller Beschäftigten in Brandenburg aus.

Laut Ragnitz verliert Deutschland insgesamt an Attraktivität: hohe Energie- und Arbeitskosten, lange Genehmigungsverfahren, schlechte Verkehrsinfrastruktur. Die Politik verzettle sich auf Nebenkriegsschauplätzen, statt „für die Sicherung der Grundlagen unseres Wohlstands – eine starke Industrie – zu sorgen“, moniert er.

Investitionen in Verkehrsinfrastruktur und Digitales, Bildung und Fachkräftezuwanderung seien originäre Aufgaben der Länder. „Die Unsitte, dass gerade die ostdeutschen Länder immer erst einmal nach Bundeshilfen rufen“, lenke von der grundgesetzlich geklärten Verantwortlichkeit ab.

Personalmangel ist der größte Nachteil des Ostens

Die starke Subventionierung von Tesla, Intel, TSMC habe nichts mehr mit regionaler Wirtschaftsförderung zu tun, sondern damit, dass man sie aus politischen Gründen unbedingt nach Deutschland locken wollte. Letztlich habe sich die Politik so in eine Falle manövriert, aus der es kein Entkommen gebe. Es gelte aber, bei der Förderung „die Qualität der Arbeitsplätze stärker in den Blick zu nehmen“. Wichtiger als Investitionsförderung sei eine Stärkung der Innovationskraft der Industriebetriebe. Anstelle von Förderprogrammen für Forschung und Entwicklung sollte Technologiepolitik, insbesondere auf Länderebene, eher die Teilhabe von Unternehmen an anderswo generiertem technologischen Fortschritt erleichtern – auch über Hochschulen und Institute als Mittler.

Größter Nachteil des Ostens ist für Ragnitz der wachsende Personalmangel von im Schnitt zehn bis 15 Prozent. Da Zuwanderer dort nicht gern gesehen und Niedriglöhne kein Lockmittel seien, müsse man auf Automatisierung und Digitalisierung zur Arbeitseinsparung setzen. Er ist dagegen, Firmen mit obsoletem Geschäftsmodell mit Staatshilfe am Leben zu erhalten.

IG Metall: Steuergelder gibt es nicht zum Nulltarif

Carsten Schneider (SPD), Ost-Beauftragter der Bundesregierung, verteidigt die Förder-Milliarden für die Chipwerke von Intel und TSMC „auf vergleichbarem Niveau der USA mit ihrem Inflation Reduction Act“. Der Staatsminister ist „bei allen Problemen im Osten dennoch zuversichtlich“. Nirgends gebe es so hohe ausländische Direktinvestitionen wie in Magdeburg und Dresden. Ostdeutschland werde so zum „Herz der Halbleiterindustrie in ganz Europa“. Ziel sei es gute Jobs in Zukunftsbranchen zu schaffen und zu erhalten.

Angesichts einer „Transformationserschöpfung“ in den neuen Bundesländern sei es wichtig, „die Menschen mitzunehmen“, sagt Wolfgang Lemb. Das Vorstandsmitglied der IG Metall neben Chancen auch Risiken wie den Verlust von Tradition wie beim Waggonbau Niesky und falsche strategische Entscheidungen wie bei Eickhoff in Klipphausen bei Dresden, einem Hersteller von Windkraftgetrieben. An beiden Adressen gehen die Lichter aus. „Unterstützung aus Steuergeldern gibt es nicht zum Nulltarif, sondern nur gegen Tarifbindung, Mitbestimmung, Standortzusagen und Investitionen in die grüne Transformation“, betont der Gewerkschafter.

„Gerade in Konflikt- und Krisensituationen leisten Betriebsräte durch die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit dem Arbeitgeber einen entscheidenden Beitrag für die Belegschaft“, zitiert Uwe Jahn, Betriebsratschef der Schmiedewerke Gröditz, Sachsens Ministerpräsidenten Michael Kretschmer (CDU). Daher müssten die Rechte der Betriebsräte ausgebaut werden: Mitbestimmung auch in wirtschaftlichen Dingen und Zukunftsfragen, fordert Jahn eine Reform des Betriebsverfassungsgesetzes, zeitgemäße Entlohnung der Betriebsräte inklusive.

Osten bleibt noch lange eine strukturschwache Region

Zu den größten Herausforderungen gehören nach Jahns Auffassung der Fachkräftemangel und die Verfügbarkeit von bezahlbarem Strom, Erdgas und Wasserstoff. „Die Zeit ist reif für einen Industriestrompreis von fünf Cent je Kilowattstunde“, sagt der Vertreter der energieintensiven Schmiedewerke mit rund 700 Beschäftigten und 240 Millionen Euro Jahresumsatz. Und er denkt dabei auch an die Chemiebetriebe, Maschinen-und Anlagenbauer, Gießereien sowie die drei Elektrostahlwerke im Großraum Dresden.

Wirtschaftsforscher Ragnitz warnt vor Illusionen. Der Osten habe strukturelle Defizite, die sich durch die Politik weder kurz- noch mittelfristig beheben ließen. Erfahrungen des Westens zeigten, dass die meisten Regionen, die in den 1970ern als strukturschwach galten, trotz Intervention noch immer förderbedürftig seien. „Es ist deshalb davon auszugehen, dass Ostdeutschland noch lange eine strukturschwache Region bleibt – trotz einzelner Inseln industrieller Prosperität“, so seine Prognose.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: