Search

Search

Less work, same money at Savera in Hoyerswerda: "Must give something other than just work".

A plant manager in Saxony cuts working hours in his production company. The salary remains the same. Is it worth it? A visit to Savera in Hoyerswerda.

Reading time: 4 Minutes

Werksleiter Rico Rudolph im Hoyerswerdaer Wer von Savera.
Here, working hours weigh as much as steel. Plant manager Rico Rudolph introduced the 36-hour week. © kairospress

From Luisa Zenker

Hoyerswerda. A steel rail hovers in the air. Then employee Erik Theinert slowly lowers the 120-kilo part to pack it up in the workshop and send it out into the world. "You need a lot of strength for this work," says the production helper in a black T-shirt, who actually once learned to be a cook.

But the working hours were too family-unfriendly for him: "Always working in the evening and on weekends, that didn't fit anymore," he recalls. Now he produces for the Hoyerswerda-based company Saverawhose hobbyhorse is manufacturing steel rails for elevators.

Every day, Erik Theinert's shift starts at 6 a.m.. And ends at 1:42 p.m. He grins at the number. "Yes, really," his colleagues also add. And indeed, the 36-hour week has been in effect at the company since June 2021. Since then, the nine employees have been working in the production hall for seven hours and 12 minutes every day from Monday to Friday. "I can pick up my child afterwards," says a delighted Erik Theinert, who receives the same pay as before.

Erik Theinert used to be a chef. Now he works for the Hoyerswerda-based company Savera, whose hobby is manufacturing steel rails for elevators.© kairospress

Plant manager Rico Rudolph can answer this question as to why this is possible despite fewer hours.

The 43-year-old became involved with the issue of working hours at an early stage. Before he became an authorized signatory in the company, he worked for other East German corporations. "In one company, our West German colleagues had five more vacation days and were paid according to the collective wage agreement. I wasn't doing badly, but I thought that was unfair. And in the other company, you could get three extra vacation days if you weren't sick. I didn't understand that, why are you punished if you're sick yourself?"

In 2016, Rico Rudolph became plant manager at the Hoyerswerda-based company. The topic of working hours did not let him go. Then came the decision: In June 2021, he reduced working hours for his employees by four hours. The change was also accompanied by scientific research. The professorship for occupational psychology at the Dresden University of Technology compared the Hoyerswerda plant with a partner plant in Hanau, which continued to work 40 hours.

Employees are more satisfied

After just a few weeks, it was noticeable: Rudolph's employees are happier. "At first, they stressed themselves out more because they thought they had to do the same workload in fewer hours." The plant manager took the pressure off them.

After a year and a half, he can say, "My people are less stressed and less sick." Before, each employee recorded 18 sick days a year; now it's only 11 days.

And that's where Rudolph's secret recipe lies: By making his employees less sick, productivity is at a similar level as before, he says. "The shortened working hours make people happier, more relaxed, less stressed, and that can never be counterproductive for companies," says Rudolph, who criticizes employers who demand a lot but are uncreative about changing conditions.

His work model also makes him more attractive to employees. A plus point in view of the shortage of skilled workers. He also refers to pilot projects in the United Kingdom. They also show that employees are more productive with shorter working hours: Employees with shorter working hours are more productive, less stressed and less likely to be ill.

The boss himself remains at 40 hours

"Times have changed," Rudolph says. "There has to be something other than just going to work." He dismisses the notion that young people have become lazier. "They're more aware of life and much more into digital." He also comes to talk about the post-war generation that built Germany through hard work. "But nowadays there are no more typewriters or index cards where everything has to be entered by hand. Why shouldn't my people benefit from digitization?"

  • The overview of all news from Saxony's economy is available once a week with our newsletter "Economy in Saxony" -. register here for free.

With his model, the white-shirted plant manager is at odds with the Prime Minister of Saxony. The latter recently called for every employed person in Germany to work one hour longer per week in order to eliminate the shortage of skilled workers.

The plant manager himself continues to work 40 hours a week. He can only offer this to his employees because he is an authorized signatory working for the Spanish parent company Savera.

His managing director initially found the work model risky, but was quickly impressed by the TU Dresden study. The plant manager seems to be willing to take risks in general, because: Even now, he wants to stick to the weekly hours despite the weak economic situation. The plant in Hoyerswerda was on the verge of closure last year, with half of the workforce being laid off. This was because the company was owned by the Russian company Voul Stahltechnik. Because of the Russian war of aggression on Ukraine, Rudolph's customers no longer wanted to buy goods from Hoyerswerda.

In addition, the Russian company withdrew from Germany due to the sanctions. Fortunately, says Rudolph, the Spaniards arrived at the same moment. They took over Hoyerswerda. But they are not entirely spared by the economic situation. While they used to produce 20,000 elevators a year, they now produce 15,000, he says, which also has to do with the slump in the construction industry. "If no houses are being built, there is no need for elevators," says the plant manager. However, he says, a major customer has already come knocking on the door again, because the German government's target remains: 400,000 new homes a year, whether at 32, 36 or 40 hours.

This might also interest you:

Suche

Suche

Weniger Arbeit, gleiches Geld bei Savera in Hoyerswerda: „Muss was anderes geben als nur Arbeiten“

Ein sächsischer Werksleiter kürzt in seinem Produktionsbetrieb die Arbeitszeiten. Das Gehalt bleibt gleich. Rentiert sich das? Ein Besuch bei Savera in Hoyerswerda.

Lesedauer: 4 Minuten

Werksleiter Rico Rudolph im Hoyerswerdaer Wer von Savera.
Hier wiegt die Arbeitszeit so viel wie Stahl. Werksleiter Rico Rudolph führte die 36-Stunden-Woche ein. © kairospress

Von Luisa Zenker

Hoyerswerda. Eine Stahlschiene schwebt in der Luft. Dann lässt Mitarbeiter Erik Theinert das 120 Kilo schwere Teil langsam ab, um es in der Werkhalle einzupacken und in die Welt hinauszuschicken. „Für die Arbeit braucht man viel Kraft“, sagt der Produktionshelfer in schwarzem T-Shirt, der eigentlich mal Koch gelernt hat.

Doch die Arbeitszeiten waren ihm zu familienunfreundlich: „Immer am Abend und am Wochenende arbeiten, das hat nicht mehr gepasst“, erinnert er sich. Jetzt produziert er für das Hoyerswerdaer Unternehmen Savera, dessen Steckenpferd es ist, Stahlschienen für Fahrstühle herzustellen.

Jeden Tag beginnt die Schicht für Erik Theinert um 6 Uhr. Und endet 13.42 Uhr. Bei der Zahl grinst er. „Ja, wirklich“, fügen auch seine Kollegen hinzu. Und tatsächlich gilt in dem Unternehmen seit Juni 2021 die 36-Stunden-Woche. Seitdem arbeiten die neun Angestellten von Montag bis Freitag jeden Tag sieben Stunden und 12 Minuten in der Produktionshalle. „Ich kann danach mein Kind abholen“, freut sich Mitarbeiter Erik Theinert, der den gleichen Lohn erhält wie vorher.

Erik Theinert war mal Koch. Jetzt arbeitet er für das Hoyerswerdaer Unternehmen Savera, dessen Steckenpferd es ist, Stahlschienen für Fahrstühle herzustellen.© kairospress

Warum das trotz weniger Stunden möglich ist, diese Frage kann Werksleiter Rico Rudolph beantworten.

Der 43-Jährige hat sich schon früh mit dem Thema Arbeitszeit befasst. Bevor er in dem Unternehmen Prokurist wurde, arbeitete er für andere ostdeutsche Konzerne. „In dem einen Unternehmen hatten unsere westdeutschen Kollegen fünf Urlaubstage mehr und wurden nach Tarif bezahlt. Es ging mir nicht schlecht, aber das fand ich ungerecht. Und in dem anderen Unternehmen konnte man drei zusätzliche Urlaubstage erhalten, wenn man nicht krank war. Das habe ich nicht verstanden, wieso wird man bestraft, wenn man selbst krank ist?“

2016 wurde Rico Rudolph dann Werksleiter in dem Hoyerswerdaer Betrieb. Das Thema Arbeitszeit ließ ihn nicht los. Dann kam der Entschluss: Im Juni 2021 reduzierte er die Arbeitszeit für seine Mitarbeiter um vier Stunden. Begleitet wurde der Wandel auch wissenschaftlich. Die Professur für Arbeitspsychologie der Technischen Universität Dresden verglich das Hoyerswerdaer Werk mit einem Partnerbetrieb in Hanau, das weiterhin 40 Stunden schuftete.

Mitarbeiter sind zufriedener

Schon nach ein paar Wochen fiel auf: Rudolphs Mitarbeiter sind zufriedener. „Anfangs haben sie sich mehr gestresst, weil sie dachten, sie müssten das gleiche Pensum in weniger Stunden leisten.“ Den Druck nahm ihnen der Werksleiter.

Nach anderthalb Jahren kann er sagen: „Meine Leute sind weniger gestresst und weniger krank.“ Davor verzeichnete jeder Mitarbeiter 18 Krankentage im Jahr, jetzt sind es nur noch 11 Tage.

Und genau hier liegt Rudolphs Geheimrezept: Dadurch, dass seine Mitarbeiter weniger krank sind, sei die Produktivität auf einem ähnlichen Niveau wie vorher. „Die verkürzte Arbeitszeit macht glücklicher, erholsamer, stressfreier, das kann niemals kontraproduktiv für die Unternehmen sein“, sagt Rudolph, der die Arbeitgeber kritisiert, die viel fordern, aber unkreativ seien, die Bedingungen zu ändern.

Sein Arbeitsmodell mache ihn auch attraktiver für Beschäftigte. Ein Pluspunkt angesichts des Fachkräftemangels. Dabei verweist er auch auf Pilotprojekte aus Großbritannien. Auch sie verdeutlichen: Beschäftigte sind mit verkürzter Arbeitszeit produktiver, weniger gestresst und seltener krank.

Der Chef selbst bleibt bei 40 Stunden

„Die Zeiten haben sich geändert“, sagt Rudolph. „Es muss ja was anderes geben, als nur arbeiten zu gehen.“ Dass die jungen Menschen fauler geworden sind, wehrt er ab. „Sie sind bewusster für das Leben und viel mehr im Digitalen.“ Er kommt auch auf die Generation der Nachkriegszeit zu sprechen, die Deutschland durch harte Arbeit aufgebaut habe. „Aber heutzutage gibt es keine Schreibmaschinen mehr oder Karteikarten, in denen alles händisch eingetragen werden muss. Wieso sollen meine Leute nichts von der Digitalisierung haben?“

  • Den Überblick über alle Nachrichten aus Sachsens Wirtschaft gibt es einmal wöchentlich mit unserem Newsletter „Wirtschaft in Sachsen“ – hier kostenlos anmelden.

Mit seinem Modell steht der Werksleiter in weißem Hemd dem sächsischen Ministerpräsidenten konträr gegenüber. Dieser forderte zuletzt, dass jeder Erwerbstätige in Deutschland eine Stunde pro Woche länger arbeiten solle, um den Fachkräftemangel zu beseitigen.

Der Werksleiter selbst arbeitet weiterhin 40 Wochenstunden. Er könne das nur seinen Mitarbeitern anbieten, weil er Prokurist sei, der für den spanischen Mutterkonzern Savera arbeite.

Sein Geschäftsführer habe das Arbeitsmodell anfangs riskant gefunden, sei aber schnell beeindruckt gewesen von der Studie der TU Dresden. Risikofreudig scheint der Werksleiter generell zu sein, weil: Auch jetzt will er trotz der schwachen Konjunkturlage an den Wochenstunden festhalten. Dabei stand das Werk in Hoyerswerda im vergangenen Jahr kurz vor dem Aus, die Hälfte der Mitarbeiter wurde entlassen. Denn die Firma gehörte dem russischen Unternehmen Voul Stahltechnik. Wegen des russischen Angriffskriegs auf die Ukraine wollten Rudolphs Kunden keine Ware mehr aus Hoyerswerda beziehen.

Zudem zog sich das russische Unternehmen aufgrund der Sanktionen aus Deutschland zurück. Zum Glück, so Rudolph, kamen da die Spanier im selben Moment. Sie übernahmen die Hoyerswerdaer. Doch ganz bleiben sie von der Wirtschaftslage nicht verschont. Während sie früher 20.000 Fahrstühle pro Jahr produzierten, sind es jetzt 15.000. Das habe auch mit dem Einbruch in der Baubranche zu tun. „Wenn keine Häuser gebaut werden, braucht es auch keine Fahrstühle“, meint der Werksleiter. Ein Großkunde habe aber bereits wieder an die Tür geklopft, denn das Ziel der Bundesregierung bleibt bestehen: 400.000 neue Wohnungen im Jahr, ob mit 32, 36 oder 40 Stunden.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: